Cranberry Orange Wheat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super good recipe and definitely worth your while. I didn't have any craisins, so I coursely chopped a cup or so of fresh cranberries, added 2 - 3 TBS of white sugar and put in the microwave for 30 seconds, then added to the dry ingredients, and it worked just fine. I was low on some other ingredients too, so I borrowed several ideas from the reviewers, used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, didn't have orange zest, so used 3/4 c orange juice and 1/4 milk, substituted butter for the shortening. Also made the glaze from Ann's review, orange juice and powdered sugar, which was the perfect finishing touch for us. One more thing was I reduced the amount of wheat germ to a 1/4 cup and added a 1/4 of ground flax seed and I couldn't tell the difference. Will definitely make again and maybe try other berries and juice combinations like possibly blueberry and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I rarely give 5 stars. When a recipe is pretty darned good and worth repeating, I'll give it 4 stars. This recipe I would give even more than 5 stars! It is a simple recipe that yields really spectacular flavor and texture. I did not have OJ, so I used more milk. I didn't have orange zest, so I used 2 Tbs of orange extract, which was more than plenty. I also used the orange-essence dried cranberries. I did substitute wheat bran for the wheat germ, and opted for 1/2 white flour 1/2 whole wheat flour. The texture was fantastic, flavor wonderful. Delicious with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
absolutely delicious!! i made this just this last week and took them to school everyday to have as a snack before lunch. these scones really stick w/ you. i made only slight modifications to the recipe. i did use real butter instead of shortening (smart balance butter blend sticks also work well). i also used fresh cranberries (chopped and tossed w/ some sugar). they are great fresh out of the oven, and even better the next day. i also tried a lemon blueberry version, which are outstanding! i used 6oz fresh blueberries, 1/4 c lemon juice (in place of orange), 1-2 Tbsp lemon zest, and used cinnamon (about 1 or 1 1/2 tsp) instead of nutmeg. this recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These are amazing. I substituted applesauce for the shortening and used whole wheat pastry flower. I have no gilt for indulging in my favorite treat. The 4tsp. of baking powder give it a true biscuit taste along with the Pastry flour being lighter then reg. whole wheat. A new staple. I am looking to expand with other ingredients.Skip the butter on top. They remain moist at least until the next day (if they last that long) and they are pretty much fat free. For a scone that is amazing in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and easy. I exchanged the wheat germ for unprocessed bran and drizzled them with icing made from fresh squeezed orange juice and confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A little on the dry side but of course you're going to expect it from the www/wheat germ. But these healthy scones has potential. All I need is a healthy spread or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I did not think it was possible to have another scone recipe, but because we love cranberries so much just had to have this one. Did make some changes (to suit my taste) - substituted 1/2 cup white flour for the wholewheat and used 1/2 butter rather than all shortening. Probably not as healthy but good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I followed almost exactly, Couple of days before I put zest in sugar thinking it would "candy", I think it just added a little more sugar to the mix. I ground my own flour (1st time) and because of this my dough was pretty sticky but I managed to cut and get them on the pan, mine seem more like a cookie than scone, I like how they turned out. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ and butter instead of shortening. Very grainy, healthy texture, and they aren't loaded with sugar. Just be careful not to overcook them--they may get dry. Mine only took 6 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made quite a few changes, but they were really yummy. I thought using all whole wheat would be too heavy (although I should try it and see!) but I used 1 cup AP flour and the rest whole wheat. My wheat germ was bad so I used ground flax seed, and I subbed sour cream for most of the milk since I had a lot. I used half butter/half shortening and threw in a bit of coconut oil and also added some protein powder for good measure. I made a glaze like some suggested with OJ and powdered sugar and they were super good... without the glaze I think they would need some butter or something. I also didn't roll them out I just spooned them out like big cookies. But I LOVE cranberry orange scones and this was a nice healthier take on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States