Cranberry Orange Wheat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and easy. I exchanged the wheat germ for unprocessed bran and drizzled them with icing made from fresh squeezed orange juice and confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I did not think it was possible to have another scone recipe, but because we love cranberries so much just had to have this one. Did make some changes (to suit my taste) - substituted 1/2 cup white flour for the wholewheat and used 1/2 butter rather than all shortening. Probably not as healthy but good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Delicious scones that you can't even tell are made out of wheat. Cranberries are in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My husband and I loved the cranberry & orange flavor of these scones. We're also trying to eat a little healthier. Having said that, we found these incredibly dry (probably due to the whole wheat flour and wheat germ). Smothered in butter and jam these were just o.k. teatime treats. My 20 month old however loved the scones and excitedly says, "muffins, muffins!" everytime he sees them :) Would try again with maybe 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I rarely give 5 stars. When a recipe is pretty darned good and worth repeating, I'll give it 4 stars. This recipe I would give even more than 5 stars! It is a simple recipe that yields really spectacular flavor and texture. I did not have OJ, so I used more milk. I didn't have orange zest, so I used 2 Tbs of orange extract, which was more than plenty. I also used the orange-essence dried cranberries. I did substitute wheat bran for the wheat germ, and opted for 1/2 white flour 1/2 whole wheat flour. The texture was fantastic, flavor wonderful. Delicious with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super good recipe and definitely worth your while. I didn't have any craisins, so I coursely chopped a cup or so of fresh cranberries, added 2 - 3 TBS of white sugar and put in the microwave for 30 seconds, then added to the dry ingredients, and it worked just fine. I was low on some other ingredients too, so I borrowed several ideas from the reviewers, used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, didn't have orange zest, so used 3/4 c orange juice and 1/4 milk, substituted butter for the shortening. Also made the glaze from Ann's review, orange juice and powdered sugar, which was the perfect finishing touch for us. One more thing was I reduced the amount of wheat germ to a 1/4 cup and added a 1/4 of ground flax seed and I couldn't tell the difference. Will definitely make again and maybe try other berries and juice combinations like possibly blueberry and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I'll definitely make these again. I used fresh cranberries so that made it a little bit tart so next time, I'll add a bit of white sugar with the fresh berries. I used a food processor to mix the shortening to the dry ingredients & then used the processor to rough chop my cranberries. As soon as I pulled them off the baking sheet I had to snag one, add butter and savor with a cup of tea. Wonderful on a cold winter morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
absolutely delicious!! i made this just this last week and took them to school everyday to have as a snack before lunch. these scones really stick w/ you. i made only slight modifications to the recipe. i did use real butter instead of shortening (smart balance butter blend sticks also work well). i also used fresh cranberries (chopped and tossed w/ some sugar). they are great fresh out of the oven, and even better the next day. i also tried a lemon blueberry version, which are outstanding! i used 6oz fresh blueberries, 1/4 c lemon juice (in place of orange), 1-2 Tbsp lemon zest, and used cinnamon (about 1 or 1 1/2 tsp) instead of nutmeg. this recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Flavor was very good. The wheat germ made them dryer than I cared for...yet everyone at church loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made these 3 times according to the recipe given, and each time they were wonderful. I gave one batch away and got rave reviews. It helps that it is such a healthy recipe. I did use parchment paper in lieu of greasing the pan, but that was just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States