Cranberry Orange Wheat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Maybe it was me but these were a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is the first time I ever purchased wheat germ, so I was hoping that I hadn't wasted my money. My whole family ate these with out the usual fussing about "what is in this?". I also tried it with orange flavored cranberries. I didn't have orange juice at home, but just squeezed out the juice of 1/2 of a large orange as I needed to use an orange for the zest. I also added cinnamon. Never can have too much cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maciccu
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Pretty dry, but very good with a little orange glaze (as another reviewer mentioned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These scones have so much potential! This was my first time trying this recipe. I really liked the flavor, but I want to work on a better texture, as they were a bit dry.** **I changed from 4 stars to 2 because after a day these were like eating cardboard. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorldRoamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These are amazing. I substituted applesauce for the shortening and used whole wheat pastry flower. I have no gilt for indulging in my favorite treat. The 4tsp. of baking powder give it a true biscuit taste along with the Pastry flour being lighter then reg. whole wheat. A new staple. I am looking to expand with other ingredients.Skip the butter on top. They remain moist at least until the next day (if they last that long) and they are pretty much fat free. For a scone that is amazing in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made these 3 times according to the recipe given, and each time they were wonderful. I gave one batch away and got rave reviews. It helps that it is such a healthy recipe. I did use parchment paper in lieu of greasing the pan, but that was just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Flavor was very good. The wheat germ made them dryer than I cared for...yet everyone at church loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
absolutely delicious!! i made this just this last week and took them to school everyday to have as a snack before lunch. these scones really stick w/ you. i made only slight modifications to the recipe. i did use real butter instead of shortening (smart balance butter blend sticks also work well). i also used fresh cranberries (chopped and tossed w/ some sugar). they are great fresh out of the oven, and even better the next day. i also tried a lemon blueberry version, which are outstanding! i used 6oz fresh blueberries, 1/4 c lemon juice (in place of orange), 1-2 Tbsp lemon zest, and used cinnamon (about 1 or 1 1/2 tsp) instead of nutmeg. this recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I'll definitely make these again. I used fresh cranberries so that made it a little bit tart so next time, I'll add a bit of white sugar with the fresh berries. I used a food processor to mix the shortening to the dry ingredients & then used the processor to rough chop my cranberries. As soon as I pulled them off the baking sheet I had to snag one, add butter and savor with a cup of tea. Wonderful on a cold winter morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super good recipe and definitely worth your while. I didn't have any craisins, so I coursely chopped a cup or so of fresh cranberries, added 2 - 3 TBS of white sugar and put in the microwave for 30 seconds, then added to the dry ingredients, and it worked just fine. I was low on some other ingredients too, so I borrowed several ideas from the reviewers, used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, didn't have orange zest, so used 3/4 c orange juice and 1/4 milk, substituted butter for the shortening. Also made the glaze from Ann's review, orange juice and powdered sugar, which was the perfect finishing touch for us. One more thing was I reduced the amount of wheat germ to a 1/4 cup and added a 1/4 of ground flax seed and I couldn't tell the difference. Will definitely make again and maybe try other berries and juice combinations like possibly blueberry and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States