Cranberry-Orange Spiced Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great for breakfast. I used fresh blueberries and left out the additional spices, but added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I topped it with a dollup of fat free vanilla yogurt - very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Quite possibly the best breakfast I've ever had! The spice addict that I am, I put in a bit too much turmeric, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Had the potential to be 5 STAR.... but the turmeric was overpowering. I would cut it in half and double the cinnamon. I also added 1/2 a banana and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Really good oatmeal. Filling and flavorful. I didn't have blueberries so I left that part out. I made no other changes. Next time, I'll be sure to have them on hand. Very, very good. I floated milk on the top because that's always how I grew up eating oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineM
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good - a nice change, with the spices. I added just a few grates of orange zest, since I used a fresh orange for the juice, and I think I might have reduced the turmeric slightly as I wasn't so sure it was for me, so I'd say I used 1/8 tsp. I can detect it, but it's not overpowering at all, so that was a good decision for my tastebuds! I also added the orange juice before microwaving (didn't read through recipe entirely before starting) but it was fine - I ended up cooking for more like 3 1/2 minutes. I like the flavors, but I did need to add a little drizzle of honey for sweetness. Makes one nice big serving or two smaller ones if you're serving a little extra fruit or yogurt for breakfast. Thanks for sharing, Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe! I used apple juice because I didn't have any OJ. I increased slightly the turmeric and ginger (they both offer great health benefits) and I added a tablespoon of flaxseed. I cooked it on the stove instead of the microwave and I added honey to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I needed something different than regular oatmeal with brown sugar. So, this was really tasty! I like using the blueberries (I had fresh) and adding the spices. I served it up with a smoothie for a very filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was okay, I thought the orange juice made it too sour but I like the idea so I'll be playing around with it until I can get the flavors just right. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Instead of the microwave, I use the double boiler. For added protein I add either walnuts or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Flavors did not blend well for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States