Cranberry-Orange Spiced Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was pretty good. I added the turmeric but not sure it made a difference. I would leave out the orange juice next time as it made it too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good - a nice change, with the spices. I added just a few grates of orange zest, since I used a fresh orange for the juice, and I think I might have reduced the turmeric slightly as I wasn't so sure it was for me, so I'd say I used 1/8 tsp. I can detect it, but it's not overpowering at all, so that was a good decision for my tastebuds! I also added the orange juice before microwaving (didn't read through recipe entirely before starting) but it was fine - I ended up cooking for more like 3 1/2 minutes. I like the flavors, but I did need to add a little drizzle of honey for sweetness. Makes one nice big serving or two smaller ones if you're serving a little extra fruit or yogurt for breakfast. Thanks for sharing, Leah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was great! I liked the new flavors added to this traditional hot cereal dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very tasty but I added 1 packet of Equal to make a little sweeter. Did not use OJ but added a touch of milk. Did not try the tumeric as the other reviewers did not seem to care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Some of the tastes didn't ring well with me. Plus I really did not feel full afterwards. If I make it again, I would add some walnuts and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I needed something different than regular oatmeal with brown sugar. So, this was really tasty! I like using the blueberries (I had fresh) and adding the spices. I served it up with a smoothie for a very filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Had the potential to be 5 STAR.... but the turmeric was overpowering. I would cut it in half and double the cinnamon. I also added 1/2 a banana and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was very good. I did make it on the stove top instead of the microwave, but it had great flavor and is a great variance on regular old oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good - I made it on the stove and substituted chopped apples for blueberries, and it was delicious. My son didn't like it, though, as I think the spices were too strong - but great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States