Cranberry Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I doubled the recipe and used two 8x4 pans. I omitted the nuts, and otherwise made it exactly as written. It is so yummy and moist. The person who said it was like biscotti must have omitted some ingredient or had old baking powder or soda. The sweetness of the orange offsets the tartness of the cranberry. Originally made it for my husband, but I am eating most of it! Thanks for the recipe - it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This bread was delicious. 1st time baking with fresh cranberries. Cut them in half before adding them to the batter as per other reviewers. Doubled the recipe, used walnuts instead of pecans, added a glaze to the top after baking & used butter instead of margarine. The cranberry & orange flavor were very complimentary together. The bread was even better the next day. Will definitely be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I'm not a big cranberry bread fan, but thought this would be nice for a holiday treat....and it changed my mind.. This was great. I did not put any glaze on it. I am now baking mini loaves and will put a little glaze on it and give them as Christmas gifts to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used gluten-free all-purpose flour but otherwise followed the instructions and it was awesome! We want to try this with blueberries/lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Tried this because we were spending $$ for muffins of similar name at a big chain bakery/coffee shop. Their muffins definitely tasted as though made with buttermilk...which we liked. So, in the first run of what I think may be many... I used 3/4 cup buttermilk + 1/4 cup orange juice for the liquid. Left out nuts, due to allergy. Baked then cooled, wrapped in plastic wrap, chilled overnight in 'fridge before the big "taste test". We REALLY liked this! My husband actually said it was better than the bakery's! I divided the dough between two 3 x 8 inch pans and baked the full 50 min. at 350. I have a slow-ish oven, however, so start checking at 45 minutes. Photo should accompany this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Yummy doesn't begin to describe this recipe! The loaf is moist, fragrant and tastes divine! I made these as gifts for my kids' teachers for Christmas so rather than baking it as a loaf, I used muffin tins. I adjusted the cooking time and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This bread smelled and tasted fabulous. But I am having a problem and would love to hear of a solution. First of all,I used butter instead of margarine and a tablespoon or 2 of the 3/4 cup OJ was OJ concentrate. Everything was room temperature. When I added the OJ to the butter/sugar/egg mixture, it curdled. Did any of you find that? Related or not, the big problem was that the bread did not rise in the middle, but was a bit sunken. This is the best tasting cranberry orange bread I've ever had but it doesn't look great and I had hoped to give small loaves as gifts. I want it to work! Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was very flavorful and easy to make. I substituted yogurt for the butter and omitted the nuts. I do agree with some posts that the bread is dense and a bit touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mary Jane Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this bread today but, I added 1/4 cup buttermilk and 1 tsp. vanilla extract....I made a glaze out of powdered sugar and orange juice with a touch of orange zest. The results were OUTSTANDING....i can't wait to share these with friends and family for the Christmas holiday...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jane Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The flavour of this bread is very good and not too sweet. The batter however was very stiff and the resultant bread was on the dry side. I think in the future I would add a bit of sour cream or oil or more eggs to moisten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States