Cranberry Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe hardly needs any further kudos with almost 600 reviews, but I just had to throw my 2 cents in and say I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for flavour, moistness and adaptability. Made the rookie mistake of starting the prep before I realized I didn't have enough of all the ingredients, as I was doubling the recipe. Used a 227 gram bag of frozen cranberries (pulsed coarsly in food processor made only about 1 1/2 cups), used 1 c. of white sugar and 1 c. golden sugar, used 3/4 c orange juice and 3/4 c mango juice, left out the pecans because of the allergy risk as I was baking for our school's Christmas bake sale. Followed the advice of other reviews and topped with an orange glaze made of 1 cup icing sugar, about 4 Tbsp. fresh squeezed o.j., a tsp. of orange zest and 1 Tbsp melted butter. Doubled, this recipe made 5 mini loaves (the small disposable aluminum foil type pans) and the glaze proportion was perfect. 4 loaves for the bake sale and one for home :) Perfect tangy-ness, lovely tart-sweet crunch to the glaze and oh-so-moist without any greasiness. Will make terrific gifts or keep in the freezer for unexpected guests. I always get a chuckle from the reviewers who make massive revisions before rating a recipe and here I am doing the very same, although this time our of necessity, not design! A real keeper Carol, thank you! Note: If you do make smaller loaves, watch the baking time, I think mine were done in under 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I cut the cranberries in half and they got even more chopped up when I used the mixer. I know I wouldn't have liked the strong bitter bite if I'd left the cranberries whole. Made the glaze to put over the warm bread and left it in the pan. Confectioner's sugar, orange juice and zest and a drop of vanilla...yummy orange flavor that balanced out the bite of the cranberries. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Chopped cranberries since I was making mini-muffins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made it according to recipe and it was perfect. Will make as gifts, but double batch could make 3 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go-red-sox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this basically as written, but I added 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips. Also made a vanilla glaze & drizzled on top. Hopefully the family will like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Made this yesterday, followed the recipe as written , and it was delicious ! I drizzled icing made with confectioners sugar and orange juice ,as suggested by others , over the loaf as it cooled . The tartness of the cranberries plus the sweetness of the icing on this moist loaf , make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Possibly the best quick bread I've ever made. Had to make a couple of substitutions since I ran out of orange juice and zest. Added cut up candied orange peel for the zest and used some water with natural orange extract to make up the OJ deficit. A tender and tasty loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Soooo, soooo good! I'm not a baker by any means, but this came out moist, tender and melt-in-your-mouth flavorful. The only problem for me was that I'd recently had a piece of this bread from a neighbor and longed for more of the sweet, whole, juicy cranberries than she put in. So, inspired, I decided to have a go at making my own loaf. Except that after reading a review of someone who had included a WHOLE bag of fresh cranberries, I decided this was something I'd like, too. HUGE MISTAKE. The bread, although light, fluffy and so pretty, came out waaaaay too sour/tart with all those cranberries! I was actually puckering while eating a piece. :) Being a novice baker, I didn't realize I should probably add some more sugar to offset the tartness. :/ So if you like cranberries, I'd suggest chopping up half, leaving the other half whole and adding MAYBE another 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup ONLY. No more unless you use extra sugar! No matter how tempting it is with only a few berries left in the bag! The tartness mellowed out some and the loaf is great toasted with butter. But next time, I'll go easy on the cranberries! Other than my goof, it was a really, really yummy bread. Definitely will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
very good. Made it as is but did take other readers suggestions of putting an orange drizzle on top while it was still warm in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy to make. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grapeview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States