Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
WOW! What a wonderful cookie. I just made these last night for a cookie tray and they were the best of all five varities I tried. I did make a few changes to the recipe: *I added 1 1/2 tsp of zest like some of the other reviews suggested. *I used fresh cranberries and sliced them in half (not chopped). I thought they were the perfect size when the cookies baked. *Some of the other reviews suggested adding vanilla extract, but I think that almond extract and cranberries are made for eachother, so... I added about 1/4-1/2 tsp. almond extract. *Instead of walnuts, I added almond gems to accompany the extract. The gems are small enough so they don't stand out too much -- perfect for nut lovers and perfect for the rest of us! *I decided to try the cookies w/o the frosting first because of some reviews stating that the cookies were too sweet. I thought the cookies were perfect w/o the frosting, so why hassel?!! *Also, if I left them in the oven one second longer than 12 minutes, they were overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
These cookies are a huge favorite of ours! I've made them a few times and always have to make two changes - add 1/2 to 1 cup extra flour and chill the dough a little, and bake them at 350 instead of 375. As no one else has mentioned doing that, I blame it on high altitude; however, the flour thing is a little strange to me - I've never seen a cookie recipe with a cup of butter need less than 3 or 4 cups of flour. The first batch of these cookies I made (with the stated amount of flour) spread all over the pan in one big flat gooey cookie, so I made the above changes and have absolutely loved every batch since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Oh my goodness these are THE BEST! I usually make cranberry orange bread during the holidays, but from now on I'm making these cookies instead. I added a splash of vanilla extract, pulsed the fresh cranberries in my food processor and used 2 T. orange juice concentrate instead of orange juice and they spread out beautifully and have the perfect texture and balance of sweet and tart. I didn't even make the icing and my 3 year old loves them! Thank you Meg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
omg whoever submitted this, I LOVE YOU. i tried making seven different types of cookies in the last 3 days, because I have a cookie party tomorrow night and nothing would turn out right.. and then i stumbled on this just because I had bought (dried) cranberries for another recipe and I had allthe other ingredients, so i was like, ok lets give it a go. THEY TASTE FABULOUS!. they look adorable, very appropriate to give as gifts, they are sooo easy to make and yeah, just brilliant. but DO NOT overcook them. take them out when they go golden around the edges and it may well be befor e 12 minutes is even up. THANKYOU to whoever posted this on here!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I grated one whole orange and used all the zest as it tends to have a better kick and presentation. Also instead of orange juice, I squeeze all the juice of the grated orange. Use 1/3 of the juice mix into the cookie batter (to give a more citrus-y taste) and the rest for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I made these cookies for some friends last night, who were surprised to love a cookie didn't have chocolate, but rather had fruit in it! The orange topping came out a little runny with 3tbs orange juice, so I added a bit more confec. sugar to the mix. The cookies turned out much sweeter than I'd imagined, and I'll definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
VERY good! Chewy. a bit on the sweet side with the glaze, I preferred it without it, and I REALLY like my sweets! I'd also suggest adding 1/2 cup of flour, which would produce a slightly softer, less sweet cookie. But, over all, the taste is great! Definitely made it into the family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
A tasty and nice holiday cookie. As a previous reviewer said, these are a "soft" type cookie, and they have a nice orange flavor. Make sure you add enough cranberries - mine could've used a few more. I might add a touch of vanilla to the cookie batter next time and a smidge more orange zest. The icing was fine - I added a bit more orange zest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These are a great combo of flavor, fresh crans are the key.Used 1/4t xtra zest in cookie, also a batch and a half of frosting.Millie says these are best yet this CHRISTMAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These are family favourites in our house. My 2 year old son even loves them. The frosting on the top make them look more fancy than your everyday cookie. It is great to put in a cookie exchange as it makes a lot of cookies. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States