Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Every year I like to try a new cookie recipe and this one did not disappoint. The taste of cranberries and orange just brings out the holiday cheer. I like soft cookies and these are a very soft, cake cookie. In order to get them done, I had to bake them a few minutes longer than suggested. I’m always afraid of over baking cookies, but because of the cake like texture, this particular cookie is better over baked than under baked. They will maintain their softness. I should also note that I used fresh chopped cranberries. Great addition for a holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Five stars for flavor, for sure! Bright, fresh flavors of orange and cranberry that need no additional flavorings to mask it! The cookie itself, however,I'm not nearly as enthusiastic about - too soft, almost bendable, and for me anyway, a little on the greasy side (which is probably why they're so, I mean TOO, soft). I think you could work with this to correct it - perhaps adding another 1/2 of flour might be a good fix. But as it stands I cannot vouch for the dough as is. The flavor of the cookie coupled with the delicious. refreshing orange glaze, however, is worth toying with the dough a little to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is great. I made half just like it says and the other I add bittersweet chocolate to it. I did not even need the glaze. Just wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Taste-wise, these are very good. I made one tray according to the recipe (except I added 1/4 tsp almond extract and used the walnuts), then added bittersweet chocolate chips to the remaining dough. I liked the ones with choc chips better :) But the texture is VERY cake-like, not at all like a cookie - and don't store them in an airtight container or they start to go mushy! I didn't bother with the glaze as they didn't seem to need it. I'll probably make them again but play with the ingredients to get better texture (like adding more flour as other reviewer suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I actually used carob chips in this recipe because I am lactose intolerant. We all loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Exceptional!!! I used 3 cups of flour as recommended by some... Had to use Clementine juice Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Used 3 cups flour, zest from entire orange, baked at 350 for 12 minutes. These are delicious! Don't even need the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
4.5 Couldn't find fresh cranberries so thawed and drained frozen ones. Less white sugar and only glazed half of the cookies. Took them to work and all gone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This has turned out to be my husbands and my favorite cookie. Only thing I changed was I use craisins that have been soaking in cranberry juice to reconstitute their plumpness and I dont add the glaze. these are perfectly sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Absolutely a six star recipe. I chilled the dough before scooping the cookies. . Made them with and without walnuts and both ways are great. As did others, I used the juice from the grated orange. I used a hand spinner chopper which coarsely chopped the cranberries and also left some whole. My favorite cookie recipe of all time. Make it as is and you will more than enjoy the result. In my opinion if it ain't broke don't fix it. BUT some of the suggestions do sound intriguing. Love, love this cookie. I can't wait for my cookie exchange party where this recipe will make me a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States