Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Taste-wise, these are very good. I made one tray according to the recipe (except I added 1/4 tsp almond extract and used the walnuts), then added bittersweet chocolate chips to the remaining dough. I liked the ones with choc chips better :) But the texture is VERY cake-like, not at all like a cookie - and don't store them in an airtight container or they start to go mushy! I didn't bother with the glaze as they didn't seem to need it. I'll probably make them again but play with the ingredients to get better texture (like adding more flour as other reviewer suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I actually used carob chips in this recipe because I am lactose intolerant. We all loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Exceptional!!! I used 3 cups of flour as recommended by some... Had to use Clementine juice Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Used 3 cups flour, zest from entire orange, baked at 350 for 12 minutes. These are delicious! Don't even need the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
4.5 Couldn't find fresh cranberries so thawed and drained frozen ones. Less white sugar and only glazed half of the cookies. Took them to work and all gone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This has turned out to be my husbands and my favorite cookie. Only thing I changed was I use craisins that have been soaking in cranberry juice to reconstitute their plumpness and I dont add the glaze. these are perfectly sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Absolutely a six star recipe. I chilled the dough before scooping the cookies. . Made them with and without walnuts and both ways are great. As did others, I used the juice from the grated orange. I used a hand spinner chopper which coarsely chopped the cranberries and also left some whole. My favorite cookie recipe of all time. Make it as is and you will more than enjoy the result. In my opinion if it ain't broke don't fix it. BUT some of the suggestions do sound intriguing. Love, love this cookie. I can't wait for my cookie exchange party where this recipe will make me a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
@Lovemuffin: you can use either, but I used fresh cranberries. Hope this helps! :-) For my review, I agree with many others - great cookie with a few tweaks. I also added about 1/2 cup more flour and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Very good cookie and a hit at our neighborhood cookie exchange! I made half with the glaze and half without. Both went equally fast, so I guess it's just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These cookies are fantastic! I made them for Thanksgiving and they were gone before dinner. Everyone in our family loved them! Great recipe and not very hard to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The cookies were very flat and tasted somewhat greasy. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of flour because the dough seemed very soft. Fresh-baked, they were not too bad. We didn't even ice them. Next day, though, they were completely soggy and gross. As written, this recipe would probably rate 2 stars, but I'll give it 3 stars for potential. I think it COULD even be a 4-star recipe, with a few tweaks. Maybe increase the flour, cut down on butter by at least 1/4 cup. Maybe use half baking soda and half baking powder, too. I definitely want to try it again someday, because we love anything cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States