Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Because I don't have the time to sit around waiting for batches of cookies to bake, I nearly always make bar cookies out of drop cookie recipes. In general, if a recipe makes three to four dozen cookies, you can transfer the cookie dough to a 13x9 pan and add about 50 percent longer to your baking time. I made these cookies as directed using 1 cup dry cranberries (Craisins) since that's what I had on hand; I soaked the Craisins in orange juice for about 15 minutes to plump them and infuse them with flavor. I added about 1/2 t vanilla to the dough as well. I also added the zest and juice of two oranges (more juice and zest than was called for), and they were not too "orangy." In fact, I wouldn't have been able to taste the orange had I not used as much zest as I did. I also added more zest to the glaze. I baked in a 13x9 pan for 20 minutes, and they turned out perfect, very chewy and moist; the glaze is a must - it adds an extra layer of orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These are *the best* homemade cookies. Even if you're in the mood for chocolate cookies, these will turn you around. Definitely opt for the walnuts, and the icing isn't necessary. And they keep for longer than the average nonrefridgerated baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Not only are these cookies delicious, but they make your house smell absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Very yummy, made these for a cookie swap during Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Ive made these twice now and I always get rave reviews on them. I dont change it by much. I think i add a bit more orange juice to the icing recipe bec it comes out so thick but other than that, this is a perfect recipe. The first time i made them i used fresh cranberries but the second time cranberries were not available so I used dried. Both options are great. The dried result in chewier cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
It is a wonderful recipe! I used the zest of whole orange, and substituted one cup of cranberries to one cup of dried apricots. I roughly chopped apricots(in a food processor) into a size of pine nuts(in general, the apricot does not have to be chopped evenly). It gives a jelly-like and chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These cookies are as beautiful as they are delicious!! I used shaved almonds b/c I had them on hand & they didn't add anything at all. I will try the walnuts next time or just skip the nuts completely. But, still - amazing!! Cookies are great, glaze is really great! Fantastic in all ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These cookies made me famous after the last holidays. I decided to bake for family/friends instead buying presents... and guess what!?! It took me less time i guess, and everyone fell in love with the cookies. I need to say that I am a complete begginer in this art... so it amazed me the simplicity of this recipe. The first batch lasted minutes in a 5 people household... and since them I've done it about 20 times for everyone. KIDS VERSION: no cranberries. It amazed me too to notice that they are tasty as well without the cranberry touch... which my girls don't like. The bad part... I just made this recipe MINE!! And wont tell anybody I found it here!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Pretty good. I soaked my dried cranberries for an hour, then drained. I also used all rapadura sugar (not white/brown) and did 1/3 whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
SO YUM!!! I made these with O.J. concentrate to make them more orangy, and they were wonderful!!! Easy to make and everyone wants the recipe!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States