Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I made a few modifications for a slightly healthier version without compromising the flavor. I substituted equal parts whole wheat bread flour for the all-purpose flour, used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, craisins instead of fresh which I soaked in OJ substituted for milk, and instead of butter I used coconut oil. Also added in some walnuts for a crunch. Super moist and delicious and just the right amount of sweet. Great with coffee/tea or an afternoon snack. This will be my go to recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I cut this recipe back by half. The recipe did not specify which kind of cranberries I should use, I used dried. Instead of milk, I used orange juice and I increased the flour to a cup and a half for a HALVED RECIPE. The batter for this was incredibly moist even with the additional flour. I made muffins out of this recipe, I did get 12 regular sized muffins out of a halved recipe. This took 22 minutes to bake at 350* and even then, I'm not really happy with the end result. The muffins turned out incredibly spongy and really.......wet looking plus the texture is odd. I think maybe this recipe could have benefited from an additional quarter cup or half cup over what I had added. I don't know that I would try this again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
So my sister announced an impromptu game night at her place and I was in need of something edible to bring and share. After a frantic internet search I found this cranberry orange bread recipe. I had most of the ingredients on hand, with suitable substitutes to make it work with my vegan diet... so cranberry orange bread it is! YAY! I may or may not have eaten half the finished batch of bread all by myself... maybe. ok, so I did. -_- Here are the changes I made: I used raw cane sugar in place of white sugar and used 1/2 a cup less than called for. I subbed Earth Balance for the butter, orange juice in place of the milk, non dairy yogurt instead of sour cream, Ener-G in place of the eggs, I dropped the orange extract (because I didn't have it) and added an extra cup of cranberries (all of which I roughly chopped). I made one big batch in an 8x8 pan because it's all I could find so it took quite a bit longer to cook. As other reviewers mentioned, definitely let this bread cool COMPLETELY before you tear into it. Not only will it save your tongue and mouth from being melted off by the *hotter than molten lava* cranberries, but it also tastes LIGHT YEARS better once it's cooled! I will definitely be making this again, soon! What came home from game night was quickly devoured by my 15 year old who LOVED it! Maybe next time we'll even share with everyone else! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Incredibly moist, delicious and full of flavor. Doubled the vanilla, and like one reviewer sprinkled the buttered pan and the top of the loaves with cinnamon sugar, and some coarse sugar on top, which gave a nice subtle crust and lovely finish. The end product doesn't need any extra butter or cream cheese on top, unlike many fruit breads I've tried before. Made it for the first time on Christmas and it was a HUGE hit; will undoubtedly be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe, with a few suggested tweaks... 1)I replaced the vanilla and the orange extracts with just ove 2 tsp of pure almond extract; 2)I used one large navel orange, peeled and sliced into small chucnks, in place of the mandarin oranges. To cook, I made one pan loaf, and used the other half of the batter for a tray of mini muffins (cooks those for 30 - 35 min). Both were DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent recipe, bread comes out tasty and moist! A couple of changes that I made: I had fresh mandarin oranges on hand so I substituted those. I used 3 1/2 small mandarin oranges. the downside of using fresh oranges is that you get a bit of pulp but it softens up while baking. I didn't have orange extract so I used some orange zest from the oranges I was using. I didn't measure the zest -but it was maybe 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe was great! I will definitely make this again. I was craving cranberry orange muffins (like the ones that Dunkin Donuts used to make years ago) but I couldn't find them anywhere. This was exactly the taste that I wanted! I made a few minor changes to the recipe: used fresh mandarin orange sections, 2 tablespoons of frozen OJ concentrate mixed with 1/4 cup of water. I reduced the milk to 1/2 cup and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup also (since I used the sweetened OJ concentrate). I used the fresh cranberries b/c I like the tartness factor but I did take the advice of several others and coursely chopped the cranberries so that they weren't too tart. The bread turned out very moist with a pronounced orange flavor that really came through without being overwhelming and the tartness of the fresh cranberries was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have to share that I made this up, albeit extremely tired for Christmas morning brunch. I forgot to add the butter, but the finished results still came out PERFECT. My granddaughters that live nearby love fruit and veggies, so this works out great for them, especially being able to see the orange segments, and the craisens work out well too. I use a larger can of mandarin oranges and let them drain for about an hour before working on the recipe, and even generic dried cranberries work. You will NOT be disappointed in this recipe at all. I did use half white sugar and half brown. Seems to add another level of richness to the bread. Good luck and ENJOY this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow! Easy to make and was moist and yummy. I used mini loaf pans and gave for gifts. Because of this I put the oranges in a colander and mashed as I was afraid the chunks would be too big. i also used craisans and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morekc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this twice now and it's excellent! I love tangy, so I've used fresh cranberries and its been quite popular with my family. I usually throw in the whole bag, which is slightly more than the 2 cups called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States