Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
The recipe didn't specify what type of cranberries; fresh or dried, I used fresh, the bread itself was very flavorful but the fresh cranberries made the bread extremely tart, everyone ate the bread but picked out the cranberries. I plan to make this again using dried cranberries. I also plan to chop the mandarin orange segments to make it less chunky. I baked mine in a bundt pan and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I used 1 1/2 cups craisins, plumped first in the microwave, reduced sugar to about 1 1/3 cups, used navel orange segments instead of mandarin, substituted 3 T. orange zest for the extract, and baked them in a minimuffin pan. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was fun & easy to make and turned out very yummy! FYI high altitude (I'm well over 5000ft) you'll want to bake for 55 minutes for a perfect turn out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaKruhalski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I have made it twice now and both times it came out perfect. I brought a loaf to work and my co-works loved it. I had several people insist I give them the recipe so they could make it right away. The only thing I changed was that because I had no orange extract...I substituted orange juice for the milk...I also left out a half cup of sugar (to make up for the sweetness of the orange juice). I also used craisens. YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This bread was absolutely delicious - very moist, with a terrific flavor. I substituted Craisins, which I first plumped in the microwave with a little water and patted dry. Since Craisins are sweeter than fresh cranberries, I reduced the sugar in the recipe to 1-1/2 cups. Definitely a "keeper!" I can't wait to serve this bread on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I was looking for an alternative to my Banana Nut Bread and this is it. A tasty addition with the following changes: 1/2 tesp. baking soda, pinch of salt, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 med. naval orange, used all zest instead of extract, peeled and cut up to same size as dried cranberries and only used 1 cup of the cranberries, also 2 tesp. vanilla as I always double vanilla in all recipes and finally 1/2 cup of sour cream 'cause that's all I had. Baked in two loaf pans for 50 mins. and it is totally awesome. Moist and delicious and one flavour doess not overpower any other. It's wonderful! This is in my recipe box with a star on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! Very moist. The only change to this recipe I made was to use orange juice instead of milk for extra flavor. And since I only own one 9x5 loaf pan, I decided I would try baking it all in one 8x8 baking dish. It looked like alot when I poured it all in, but it baked up perfectly without overspilling the pan. It took about 50 minutes in the 8x8 pan. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I LOVE this bread! My boyfriend who isnt a fan of cranberries also liked it. I plan on making a few loafs for christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this earlier this week and it was so yummy!! I made a couple of adjustments. My aunt who is a master baker recommended I chop up the fresh cranberries to make them less tart (worked perfectly) and also used a whole orange (peel and all) in the food processor. The peel gave it extra flavor and a great substitute for orange extract. Also, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream as that is all I had. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
O.M.G!!! You want talk about some good bread, THIS IS IT!!! It's a perfect combo of sweet orange and zesty cranberry. My husband has me making it for his lunches, he shares it with his buddies and everybody raves! The only change I made was to change out fresh cranberry for cranraisens because they are sweeter and not tart. I just put the cranraisens in a measuring cup, put hot water over the top of them, let them sit for about 10 minutes, drain them, squeeze the excess water out of them, and add to the recipie as it calls for it. The crans plump right up and are nice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States