Cranberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I looooooooove cranberries, so this was great. Changed a few things. Didn't have the pie spice, pecans or egg, so I added a bit more cinnamon, chopped up an apple to add to the mix, and used egg beaters. Also drizzled the top with honey and put it in an 8x8 pan. Increased the bake time to 20-25 minutes so the middle would cook. Found that with the addition of the apples it was awesomely sweet (just right for my taste). However, I have some friends doing Weight Watchers and plan to try some adjustments next time for them. Will try applesauce instead of butter, honey instead of sugar (and lessen the amount since I'm adding apples), and leave the peels on the apples (and add another half an apple) to add even more of a fiber kick. Think they will love it as much as I did! Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny_bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Very easy! I added an extra egg and increase baking soda, baking powder and salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The bars came out more cake-like. It was a great late night snack for me and the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
It was a nice recipe. A good alternative to cookie/brownies. I made 2 batches, 1 as directed, the other I substituted honey (and a dash of molasses) for the sugar and unsweetened applesauce for the butter. That second batch was slightly fluffier, moist and chewy, not crumby at all (the first was). i did omit the nutmeg and pie spice on both. I will try again with even less honey and banana chips, chocolate chips instead of cranberries/nuts. Healthier option than breakfast bars for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was really excited to try this recipe due to the other great reviews.....I have to say it's fairly bland for my taste, not sweet enough, and the texture is more like a health food bar than a 'cookie' type bar....I wouldn't make this for kids, although if you're dieting and desperate these might fit the bill. Follow up: I tried these the next day and was very dissapointed. They're too chewy, dry and I dont feel they're worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made these both ways. The first batch I made exactly as the recipe was written, except I did add some dark chocolate chips. The next day, I made them using honey instead of brown sugar, and applesauce instead of butter. To me, both ways are fabulous. I will probably stick to the second method, just for the healthier outcome. They went over better for my kids when I chopped up the dried cranberries. These are what we use as a pick-me-up after our Zumba class every week. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Really yummy, I used canola oil and yogurt instead of egg and butter. A very simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovi16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very tasty! My kids and the kiddos I watch loved them. Moist and not too sweet. Even my husband the sweet tooth in the house liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Sorry, but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this exactly as directed! The result was exactly as described, a moist tart and sweet cranberry oatmeal bar cookie. It was a great way to use up the dried cranberries I had and I believe I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States