Cranberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These were delicious and flavourful. Mine were a little soft, even though I cooked them for longer than stated, but I will try again soon. This will be a regular and good to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
After looking over the comments, I increased sugar to 1/2 cup, the salt to 1 tsp,, and the powder to 1/2 tsp. Nuts were scant, used part raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Too bland and too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
my husband loves these bars , we call them king henry bars , because his name is henry and he eats the whole pan . I have made this recipe as stated , but at times have used other dried fruit , due to having none at the time . the basic recipe is very good .and can be changed using what fruit dried you have .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Absolutely out of this world! I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
With hectic mornings, we had little time for breakfast or lunch packing. We were spending a fortune on bought cereal bars. NO MORE!!! These are fantastic, easy to make, and customizable!! The first batch I made per the recipe except with applesauce instead of butter. I'm very pleased! Now...I hope my fiance will be as happy when he gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I was very excited to find this recipe and ended up disappointed. I was looking for something easy to make to have on hand in the morning to grab & go. I love cranberries so this seemed perfect. It was easy enough to put together... no electric mixers or electric anything needed. I used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had on hand. My mouth was watering when I pulled it out of the oven. I flipped it out of the pan after cooling & cut into bars with a large knife. It was here that I had the first indication something was amiss. It was very crumbly. Soooo crumbly that many of the bars couldn't hold their shape. When I took a bite, there was more crumbling. Definitely had to wash this down with milk. I was hoping for a moister even gooier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This wasn't bad, but not what I was anticipating. Maybe it's because I used quick oats? But it was very chewy & cake like. Definitely something I would serve at a brunch & not as dessert. It's not very sweet which is nice though. But the flavor didn't wow enough to make again here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I love these. I had to improvise the recipe a little. Since I didn't have some ingredients. I used 1/2 cup of natural applesauce instead of the butter. I substituted the sugar for maple syrup, and I used 1 teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa for pumpkin pie spice. They turned out delicious and not dry at all. On the contrary, they were moist. Next time, I am going to ad almonds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made these both ways. The first batch I made exactly as the recipe was written, except I did add some dark chocolate chips. The next day, I made them using honey instead of brown sugar, and applesauce instead of butter. To me, both ways are fabulous. I will probably stick to the second method, just for the healthier outcome. They went over better for my kids when I chopped up the dried cranberries. These are what we use as a pick-me-up after our Zumba class every week. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States