Cranberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Just wonderful and a healthy alternative to cookies. A little crumbly but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Delicious recipe! I made this for my boyfriend and myself to take for our lunches and I substituted the pecans for chocolate chips. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
It was a nice recipe. A good alternative to cookie/brownies. I made 2 batches, 1 as directed, the other I substituted honey (and a dash of molasses) for the sugar and unsweetened applesauce for the butter. That second batch was slightly fluffier, moist and chewy, not crumby at all (the first was). i did omit the nutmeg and pie spice on both. I will try again with even less honey and banana chips, chocolate chips instead of cranberries/nuts. Healthier option than breakfast bars for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was really excited to try this recipe due to the other great reviews.....I have to say it's fairly bland for my taste, not sweet enough, and the texture is more like a health food bar than a 'cookie' type bar....I wouldn't make this for kids, although if you're dieting and desperate these might fit the bill. Follow up: I tried these the next day and was very dissapointed. They're too chewy, dry and I dont feel they're worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I looooooooove cranberries, so this was great. Changed a few things. Didn't have the pie spice, pecans or egg, so I added a bit more cinnamon, chopped up an apple to add to the mix, and used egg beaters. Also drizzled the top with honey and put it in an 8x8 pan. Increased the bake time to 20-25 minutes so the middle would cook. Found that with the addition of the apples it was awesomely sweet (just right for my taste). However, I have some friends doing Weight Watchers and plan to try some adjustments next time for them. Will try applesauce instead of butter, honey instead of sugar (and lessen the amount since I'm adding apples), and leave the peels on the apples (and add another half an apple) to add even more of a fiber kick. Think they will love it as much as I did! Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny_bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These bars taste healthy. and not in a good way, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Very easy! I added an extra egg and increase baking soda, baking powder and salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The bars came out more cake-like. It was a great late night snack for me and the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Good but not as thick as I had hoped. And not crunchy which wasn't bad. R was totally into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I followed recipe as instructed and the bars were nearly inedible. They came out dry, crumbly, with not enough sweetness or mouth feel. Like previous reviewers mentioned, they tasted like a weird diet "fat-free" dessert, except, of course, they're not fat free or healthy. Definitely will not be saving this one to my recipe box. Don't waste ingredients on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe was absolutely wonderful! I didn't have the pecans so I left them out and I added 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. This was very easy and have added it to my regular menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States