Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe, I used canned cranberry's left over from thanksgiving and added a layer of blueberries, but YUM! Oh and I added a little cinnamon and clove to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaView

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I didn't use the nuts; I never do. My family has enough nuts. These bars were so good! It surprised us all, as the cranberries were no longer too tart to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Substituted dried cranberries...for smaller pan 9x9" I used 1-1/2 cups dried and 1/2 cup orange juice I cooked for about 15 minutes to soften berries. Instead of orange zest I used 3/4 cup orange marmalade and no added sugar (I like tart things so you might need to add some sugar if you want a sweet filling} cooking this with berries about 5 minutes. Based on other comments for larger pan, I cut back to one cup each of oats and flour. I like my holiday cranberry bread combination so I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and chopped pecans to the topping. Delicous! Next time I think I'll spread some white chocolate chips on top to play up the tart/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Sometimes simpler is better. Great recipe to substitute anything you have, on hand, for the filling. Used Strawberry jam, today. Will try the cranberry filling, next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 pan by increasing crust by 1 1/2 and doubling the filling. I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the crust and added the juice of 1 orange to the filling. I used about 2/3 of the crust on the bottom and 1/3 on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made these with a pint of lowbush cranberries (lingonberries) I canned last year. I followed the crust directions, went easy on the salt, 3/4 cup sugar (brown/white mix) and used half & half quick/old fashioned oats. After I cut in the butter, I sprinkled 1-2 teaspoons of water for good measure. In retrospect- unnecessary. THey came out awesome. perfect texture- not dry crunchy like some other similar recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious. The first time I made them I only had quick oats available. They were very good but next time I used large flake oats and the texture and flavor was much more to my liking. I have also used a mixture of blueberries and cranberries with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was OK when very fresh, but it was extremely sweet, very buttery, and needed to be baked longer. I baked it for 25 minutes just because 15 seemed so short, and it still got extremely soggy within a day of baking. I also wish I had followed my instincts and added some spices like cinnamon and maybe nutmeg. Even though it was super-sweet, it ended up tasting kind of bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow, these are awesome! I took the advice of others and usesd a 13x9 pan. Also increased the filling. I used 2 cups cranberries and 1 cup pomegranate seeds and then strained to remove the seeds. Also increased sugar to 1 cup. Took these to work and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These were delicious! One of our favorites now. I added six more servings to the recipe to create more crust. I used a 9x13 pan and the same amount of filling. They came out perfect. I feel like less filling makes it easier to cut and not soggy. I also added a little bit more of orange zest to make it more orangey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States