Cranberry Nut Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I am never buying granola bars from the store again. I used only the quick cooking oats, added sunflower seeds and omitted the mixed nuts. I also added a pinch of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg. Baked these suckers for 10 minutes. And now I'm stuffing my face with one. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
my husband does not like nuts so i just omitted them altogether. substituted 1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup craisins (dried cranberries) and used 3 cups old-fashioned oats. i added about 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 tsp cinnamon mixed it up really good before adding the sweetened condensed milk. after pressing into the pan i drizzled some honey on the top along with a cinnamon sugar blend. ooohhhhhh it was so good. my husband and my 5 year old beg me to make this. making it at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne.hardy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AWESOME recipe! I make these for snacks for my kids (and hubby) to take to school. My daughter has a peanut allergy, and many store bought granola bars have peanut flour. So, I tried these, and we fell in love with the taste and simplicity! I make a double batch, individually cut and bag them, and stick them in the freezer. I do not use the parchment paper as a liner, but do use it to push them down firmly into the pan. I also have used a super-easy, no cook recipe on here for Sweetened Condensed milk, which works fabulously if you don't have it on hand. I only had old-fashioned oats, and did not miss the quick-cooking oats. I have tried all sorts of variations, such as chocolate chip and cinnamon raisin. Thanks for a fabulous recipe, that has become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Terrific granola bar! To make it non-dairy, I used one can of coconut milk and 3 tbsp honey. I also used flax seed, millet and sunflower seeds in place of the mixed nuts. Good for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very easy - I used dried cherries (should have cut them up but didn't) and turned out great. I also used pecans in place of almonds. I'll be making this one again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The condensed milk is a great way to keep the granola together. They turned out perfectly the first time. These are so easy to make, and fun to create bars to our own personal taste. I use dried apricots and sliced almonds for one batch and peanut butter chips for another. I took these to a group function and was given many compliments. My husband has requested we have them with breakfast every day. I omitted the condensed milk for one batch and tried using peanut butter and honey. I think it cooked too long because they were really crunchy. I wound up making granola with that batch...which is perfect in the yogurt I'm eating now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Love this recipe! It is so flexible. I have been making every week, and change up the nuts and dried fruit. One week I added coconut and macadamia nuts, another some cashews. It's a perfect, healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is one of the best granola bar recipes I have tried, and I have tried a lot. It doesn't fall apart when you cut it like so many do. Our school division is nut-free, so I subbed out all the nuts and seeds for a combination of coconut, Rice Krispies, chocolate chips and ground flax seed. I look forward to trying new combinations and adding nuts in over the summer holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for - a simple way to cook ahead of time my usual morning oatmeal + dried fruit + nuts, without having to add a bunch of other ingredients. For me the parchment made a huge difference, without that the bars fell apart when I removed them from the pan. Also I like to mix up the dry ingredients before putting in the condensed milk, I find it easier to get an even distribution that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these today subsituting sunflower seeds, chopped almonds, dried cherries, raisins and chocolate chips to equal 3 cups. I baked them for 25 minutes. Very easy, and very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States