Cranberry Nut Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I don't often leave reviews, good or bad; but this one definitely deserves a five star rating. It's great as it is and is a perfect place to begin exploring new flavor combinations. Spread them out thin on a jelly roll pan for more crunchy texture, or in the 13 x 9" dish for thicker and chewier. Very easy! Like brownies, the crisp, chewy edges are the best. I bet anyone with one of those goofy "all edges" brownie pans would get great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is just so mind-blowingly easy that once you have the basic ratio of oatmeal to sweetened condensed milk down, you can customize at will according to what you and your family like best. I just use all old-fashioned oats to make things easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Tried both original recipe and made lactose free with 1.5 cups of coconut milk and 4 tbsp of honey and both were delicious! I personally liked the lactose free ones even though they were a little less "substantial" (meaning a little less solid or heavy) more nutty flavor less sweet! I will make both again& share recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! Already made it three times. I omitted the pumpkin seeds, added flax seed, and also added in some dried cherries. For one of the batches I spread a little honey on the top before baking and was yummy. Very adaptable recipe to experiment with. As long as you have approx. 3 cups of add-ins, it works out great. The last batch I used dried cherries, raisins, and chocolate chips and completely omitted the nuts and cranberries. Received rave reviews. The sweetened condensed milk works out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Outstanding....quick, easy, cost effective (use whatever you have on hand. Family loved them. I used chocolate chips in place of the mixed nuts and walnuts in place of the pumpkin seeds. Mom loves them for breakfast with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent 'foundation' on this recipe. Very easy to personalize with the add ins. I added extra oats, dried blueberries, dried cherries, dates, flax, sunflower seeds, apricots, and honey. Made about 3.5 pounds of bars. I cooked mine a half hour, then reduced the heat to 325 and did another 14 minutes because I wanted the bars more crunch. The sweetness of the bars seems to mostly be determined by the amount of fruit added. It was excellent!! Way to hit a homerun SeattleFarmersMarketGirl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We have made the granola bars twice from this recipe. The first time I didn't have parchment paper and used aluminum foil in its place and it actually worked great. The second time I used parchment paper and it stuck to it ruining some of the granola bars. Besides that minor problem it really is an easy recipe and almost no fail. The kids really love helping make this (and eating it) and it is fun replacing the ingredients with whatever you like( dark chocolate chips, various dried fruit, various nuts, coconut, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Really wish I could give this recipe a better rating but it was just OK. I made them with dried cherries, almonds and semi sweet chocolate chips and the end product was lacking something. Not sure if it needed salt or sweet or vanilla but the flavor was not as good as it could be. I even added about 1/2 tsp vanilla extract to the condensed milk. I think I may try to tweak the recipe to develop the flavor a bit. Maybe a bit more vanilla mixed in and a dash of salt on top just before popping into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was very simple to make but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was a fantastic way to get rid of the extras I had in my cupboard. I subbed the evaporated milk for almond milk, added some protein powder and a banana to hold the bars together a bit more. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States