Cranberry Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. When doubling, I used the entire bag of fresh cranberries (12 oz.) This is the recipe that comes off of the the Ocean Spray bag. Great bread for the holidays. TIP - Be sure to cover the bread tightly with foil once it comes out of the oven for about 10-15 min. It will steam and keep the bread super moist - a trick for all loaf quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
We were so impressed with this recipe that I've decided to finally review a recipe here after using this site for nearly 2 years! This is a phenomenal bread. The base is wonderful and can be used with a variety of different fruits - strawberry, blueberry, cherry, dried mix, etc. We prefer it without nuts and make it exactly as given except we use halved cranberries rather than whole. We've used both fresh and frozen with no difference in quality. When my husband first made this I was skeptical because I thought it would need more sugar and some other spices like cinnamon. I was wrong! The flavor is perfect as is. The orange juice and zest give a sweetness and complexity that is just heavenly. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taneytown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I have made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. I have also made it with fresh bing cherries and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A decent muffin-like bread. I especially enjoyed it for breakfast when warmed and buttered. As suggested by other reviewers, I used only one cup of cranberries; that seemed like the right amount. I would, however, prefer to have more walnuts. Also, be warned: the bread was done after 40-50 minutes of baking, not the 65 minutes the recipe claims. Incidentally, I used 60% white flour, 40% whole wheat flour (because I actually ran out of white flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe. It was a tad dry so I did make a few changes and the 2nd loaf came out excellent. Used 1/2 c. veg oil and 1/2 c. OJ (instead of 1/4 c. butter and 3/4 c. OJ). Used 2 eggs instead of one. Whisk all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Stir in the nuts, zest and the cranberries. In medium bowl whisk together all wet ingredients. Add wet all at once into the dry and stir with a big spoon until just moist. Proceed as recipe directs for baking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I could not find fresh or frozen cranberries anywhere. I instead used dried cranberries. The orange-cranberry combination of this bread is heavenly. I did, however, find it to be somewhat dry and crumbly as others have also stated. Next time, I think I'll add a little more butter or perhaps even another egg to see if it is more moist. This is a definite keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good and easy. I didn't have an orange for zest so just used a little extra oj and it seemed orangey enough and moist. Also did not have to bake for whole time - was done about 10 minutes earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This was very good. Better if you make it a day or so ahead and let the flavors blend. Excellent when you slice it and toast it and spread some cream cheese over it for a breakfast bread with coffee! Will make again. I did add more nuts than it called for and I also toasted the nuts beforehand to add a little flavor. Thanks Cathryn for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This bread is Outstanding! I did add extra walnuts & cranberries. this will be my holiday favorite from now on, good job Cathryn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Went looking for a Cranberry Bread recipe and found this one. I will never use any other recipe for Cranberry Bread! This one is fast and easy, and best of all, even my mother-in-law was impressed. Delicious*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States