Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've been making this for years as my Mom's recipe is essentially the same, but doubles the cranberries (or maybe I changed it, it's only been 25 years since I started making it - Curious where it originated). My tips would be to Cut the Cranberries in Half, don't chop or process, it makes a world of difference. Also, as opposed to wrapping the Bread in a plastic wrap to cool, I'd suggest Wax Paper, as it will absorb the moisture so the bread is less soggy--after you've cut the first slices, if there's any left, use new wax paper, it won't be in the fridge long enough to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Doesn't have a lot of flavor....very moist. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Amanda Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this bread last night. Cooled + wrapped with plastic wrap. It was sliced around noon today + was slightly crumbly. I read in another review that you need to keep it wrapped for 24 hours prior to slicing. Not sure what I did wrong but it may have been in the mixing although I do not think I over mixed. If anyone has any helpful hints I am all ears. Otherwise it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this at Christmas, divided into smaller loafs and gave as gifts...everyone loved it, I have made this almost every week since then, great for breakfast on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very moist. Crunchy on the outside but soft and moist inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Turned out perfect! I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour & applesauce instead of oil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very good I used leman insted of orange (dident have any orange) ternd out great will try the frosting next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Love this bread. First I made it by the directions. Great! Next time I made it a little healthier with 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 Splenda for the sugar. I did add about 1/2 cup more cranberries and used almonds because that is what I had. The only change to the original I would make would be to add more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this bread with a few changes. I used 3/4cup of whole wheat flour, about 2 cups of frozen cranberries and a package of crushed walnuts and freshly squeezed orange juice. I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer then the recipe stated. The bread is moist and has the perfect balance of tart and sweetness. The kids can't stop raving about how great it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sadieandleo
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Outstandingly tart! I made a few changes as I like to bake my cranberry bread with whole cranberries and I also used about 2 cups instead of 1 cup of cranberries. Also I don't like nuts too much so I just omitted them. But overall this is the best cranberry bread recipe I've ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States