Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
this is lovely bread---i added some vanilla and almond extract, and used almonds in place of walnuts. I sprinkled some raw sugar on top and it came out wonderfully. I didn't bother to chop the cranberries---like little bursts of flavor; terrific! thanks for the recipe!! EDIT: to add that i made mine using granulated Splenda and Egg Beaters---worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe and it turned out very good. I was a bit worried about it being too dry with only 2 Tbs. of oil in it, so I added an additional 2 Tbs. of oil. I also needed to use up an apple that had been hanging around too long, so I grated the peeled apple into the batter as well. I didn't have fresh cranberries (and didn't want to run to the store), so I reconstituted 3/4 cup dried in a bit of water to sub for the fresh. Thank you again for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Yum! I'm eating this right now, fresh out of the oven. I omitted nuts, and used lemon zest in place of the orange zest which made the bread tarter, and it could have benefited from a little bit more sugar in the dough. I used about 1/4-1/3 C whole wheat flour out of the 2 C of prescribed flour. Overall, a keeper and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Amazing!! I used 1 1/2 cups of cranberries and 2/3 cups of walnut and 1 cup of sugar (because I was worried about tartness due to extra cranberries). Kept the rest same. I chopped the cranberries and walnuts in the food processor. They were fairly finely chopped. Will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India
Living In: West Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very good. I decreased the sugar to 2/3 c, added toasted almonds instead of walnuts, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and used the zest of a lemon instead of the orange. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Simple to make and Simply delicious! I make this all the time and enjoy it with tea and coffee in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Used most of a bag of cranberries. I chopped 1/2 cup and put the rest in whole. Next time I'll just throw them all in whole. I used sliced almonds because that is what I had on hand and I really liked the flavor combination. By far the prettiest bread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very good bread. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on it before I baked it and it was excellent. The only thing was it was a bit dry. I would have liked a little more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Pretty good, will make again. I also kept the cranberries whole...will add a few more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread was way too dry for my liking. It was near crumbly when trying to cut it. I added an orange glaze to try and combat the dryness, but it didn't really help. It's really too bad because the flavor was great. I loved the tart cranberries and crunchy nuts. I did follow this recipe exactly baking it in mini loaf pans because my intention was to give one as a gift. I think that baking in a larger pan for an even longer time would have made it even dryer. Needless to say, I made a different bread for the gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States