Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is such a delicious quick bread. I really like the suggestion of one reviewer who wrote that she left the cranberries whole... that way you get the maximum flavor. I quess my only (very small) complaint about this bread was that I wanted more cranberries. I would probably double the amount next time. Thank you Karin for submitting this recipe! p.s. I made another batch and baked it as mini loaves... recipe made 4; they were done in 25 min.... love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This bread was wonderful! After greasing the pan, I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar in the pan to give the crust a sweet crunch. I sprinkled some extra chopped walnuts and some "sugar in the raw" on top before baking, and it really does look like a picture! Tastes great and a beautiful holiday bread. Takes no time to whip together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent and Easy. This is the recipe on the back of the cranberry bags. Other than doubling the amount to 2 cups of berries and keeping them whole, I don't change a thing. Don't overbake. 50 min. exactly is right. If the dough is too stiff, add a few tablespoon of milk to moisten it up. TIP - for a prettier bread, place some cranberries on top of the batter before you bake it. The red color on top adds a gorgeous appearance to the bread. I also glaze mine with a lemon glaze. The glaze gives it a little tart flavor on top and keeps the bread moist. (glaze - lemon juice and powdered sugar). Glaze while warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very tasty, fruity bread. I doubled the recipe and baked it in "little loaf" pans, 5 3/4 x 3 x 2 1/8, for 30 minutes. It made 5 little loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe. I threw the cranberries in whole and it really turned out great. Nice slices of cranberries in the bread. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
SUGGESTIONS: you can add one more egg if you want, or increase the amount of cranberries, or decrease the sugar to add some tablespoon of orange juice concentrate ! Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I found this to be very dry. Any suggestions as to what I can do to change it? thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANIET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arthur, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This bread was fabulous! I thought that the orange flavor, from the juice AND zest, might be a bit strong, but it wasn't--it complimented the tang of the cranberries beautifully, so don't skimp on the orange zest...I took other reviewers' advice and used whole cranberries (increased to 1 1/4 cup) and it was perfect. Looks beautiful and tastes moist and flavorful--well worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is so good! I made it on Thanksgiving day, and everyone love it. My husband love it so much that he went to the market to grab me 2 more bags of cranberries. ^^ I also try to make it using the muffin pan and baked in the oven for about 22 mins, and it came out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Unbelievable recipe! I didn’t have fresh cranberries so I substituted Craisins, soaking them in the OJ to bring them back to life. I also used a combination of Splenda (6 packets) and brown sugar (1/2 cup) in place of the white sugar. I didn’t have orange zest so I added 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger. I also used applesauce in place of the oil, making the bread even tastier! I made mini muffins rather than a loaf of bread and I baked them at 350 for 22 minutes. I will be making a SECOND batch later tonight! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States