Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I gave it 4 stars since I made several changes. First I increased the berries to 1-1/2 cups and left them whole. Next I added an additional egg and 3 Tbsp. of sour cream as several people commented the bread was dry and/or crumbly. I also increase the sugar by 1/4 cup. I made an orange/powdered sugar drizzle to go on top. Wow, what a wonderful treat, hubby and I had 2 slices for breakfast when it came out of the oven. Definitely a keeper for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Bread came out tasty but a little dry and crumbly. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups of whole cranberries and the orange zest was from a spice jar. The rest of the ingredients were exactly as listed in the original recipe. When I poured the wet into the dry ingredients, it became very apparent that there wasn't quite enough "wet" to blend. But I got the job done. Bread was done in 50 minutes, which is unusual for my "slow" oven. The first piece was warm and delicious. But the next morning it was a bit dry and crumbly. A bit disappointing. Next time I will try another reviewers suggestion and add a second egg. I will also check it around 48 minutes in the oven. The flavor of this recipe is really good, but it does need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I took the advise and doubled the cranberries and another egg, sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar on top (I forgot to do it in the pan), and it came out great! I picked tons of cranberries this season and this recipe will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great! Made 2 loaves. Used pecans instead of walnuts and used about 2-1/2 cups of orange juice. and added an orange glaze on top while warm like another rater suggested but made my different (4 T. Powdered sugar, 2 T orange juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The best I have found on this site. I added other ingredients and still came out fabulous. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
this was really good. not sweet like most treats around xmas. the only thing I did differently was to use SunnyD instead of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This bread had flavor with the cranberries and orange juice without being too sweet. Moist...company arrived just after it came out of the oven and was gone before it was completely cool. A hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Came out great. I followed another reviewers advice and left the cranberries whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Not impressed, unfortunately. I had such high hopes, but this was on the bland side. I will give high marks for being moist and attractive when sliced, but it just wasn't very tasty, though I followed the recipe to a T. I'll keep looking for a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I never baked with fresh cranberries before, and I was surprised at how tough the berries are. But when sliced and baked they were delicious! The best thing I liked about this recipe is that it was simple to follow and didn't use too many ingredients. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States