Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great muffins! The OJ is the perfect balance for the tartness of the cranberries. I'd like to try the recipe using whole wheat flour next time. Perfect for brunch day after T-Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Not big on the really sweet muffins, like tart?? - THIS MUFFIN IS FOR YOU! I took the advice of a few reviewers ~ put some sugar on the top of the muffins the last 5 minutes of baking. Added a 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips and made 6 large muffins instead of 12 of the smaller muffins. The consistency of the muffins is GREAT! The taste is wonderful. I'm a big cranberry fan so this was a hit for me. The kids weren't real fond of the tartness of the cranberry, but they still ate it. *probably because of the chocolate chips ;-)* Next time I make these muffins I will double or triple the recipe and freeze some of them. One last thing, I did chop the cranberries with just a knife but will use my food processor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These were easy to make and they were tart! ( which was fine) I took them out of the oven before the 20 minutes so they would not be so tough, and they turned out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This recipe has several problems. First off, there is way too much liquid for the amount of flour. The muffins don't rise at all because the batter is so thin. Also, they come out very sour. All around unappetizing. Sorry, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Delicious! Just what I was looking for. I made a few changes after reading others' comments, plus a few changes of my own. I added a little more oil, a 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and substituted brown sugar for the white. I also sprinkled the tops with sugar after they came out of the oven. I think the best thing I did, though, was to stew dried cranberries in orange juice before adding them. That helped sweeten the cranberries and gave more orange flavor to the muffins. The only problem I had was the muffins didn't raise very well (possibly due to the heaviness of the stewed cranberries). Next time I'll try adding an extra tsp. of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesaning, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe was great but I stewed my cranberries in the orange juice first to mush them up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
With a few minor changes these muffins were awesome! As others suggested, I added 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of white so as to make the muffins less tart. Instead of cranberries I used cranberry sauce w/ whole berries. It made the muffins much more moist. I also didn't add the salt. Mmm Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
These were pretty tasty. I made them lower in fat by subbing 1/3 cup applesauce + 1 T oil. I also used 1 t. orange extract instead of the orange zest, and subbed 1/3 cup brown sugar for the 1/4 cup white sugar because I prefer brown and read they were a little tart. I used 1 cup (dried, soaked, chopped) cranberries + 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. So basically this was a great jumping off recipe for me! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Love these!!! I've made them many times. The girls at work love them. The only difference that I make, is I ad some vanilla to the batter. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I ran out of fresh cranberries and substituted about 1 cup of left over whole jelled cranberries in a tin. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlitsa
Home Town: Odessa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States