Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Delicious! Just what I was looking for. I made a few changes after reading others' comments, plus a few changes of my own. I added a little more oil, a 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and substituted brown sugar for the white. I also sprinkled the tops with sugar after they came out of the oven. I think the best thing I did, though, was to stew dried cranberries in orange juice before adding them. That helped sweeten the cranberries and gave more orange flavor to the muffins. The only problem I had was the muffins didn't raise very well (possibly due to the heaviness of the stewed cranberries). Next time I'll try adding an extra tsp. of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesaning, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Not big on the really sweet muffins, like tart?? - THIS MUFFIN IS FOR YOU! I took the advice of a few reviewers ~ put some sugar on the top of the muffins the last 5 minutes of baking. Added a 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips and made 6 large muffins instead of 12 of the smaller muffins. The consistency of the muffins is GREAT! The taste is wonderful. I'm a big cranberry fan so this was a hit for me. The kids weren't real fond of the tartness of the cranberry, but they still ate it. *probably because of the chocolate chips ;-)* Next time I make these muffins I will double or triple the recipe and freeze some of them. One last thing, I did chop the cranberries with just a knife but will use my food processor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great muffins! The OJ is the perfect balance for the tartness of the cranberries. I'd like to try the recipe using whole wheat flour next time. Perfect for brunch day after T-Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This recipe has several problems. First off, there is way too much liquid for the amount of flour. The muffins don't rise at all because the batter is so thin. Also, they come out very sour. All around unappetizing. Sorry, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
These were pretty tasty. I made them lower in fat by subbing 1/3 cup applesauce + 1 T oil. I also used 1 t. orange extract instead of the orange zest, and subbed 1/3 cup brown sugar for the 1/4 cup white sugar because I prefer brown and read they were a little tart. I used 1 cup (dried, soaked, chopped) cranberries + 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. So basically this was a great jumping off recipe for me! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
wow...these muffins tasted good! I used butter instead of vegetable oil....the buttery aroma filled the kitchen. My family loved it so much that I have to bake it again. The stated amount of cranberry is too much I actually halved the portion. It tasted the same as I bought from the bakery! Thanks alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I doubled the sugar based on what I read from other reviews. It was enough, but the flavor is still just okay. I only used half the amount of cranberries too. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
These are absolutely delicious! I also added 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts, and baked them in Jumbo muffin tins. Made 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
1/4 C. Sugar should have been the give away that these were T-A-R-T with a bitter aftertaste!!! Too bad, since they were a cinch to prep & baked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
These muffins are really good, I love them, and have made them several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States