Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Really Really Really loved these! I ate 3 right away...lol......dangerous stuff.....:D I did up the sugar to nearly 1/2 cup, and they were fantastic! My first time making these muffins...I used fresh, local cranberries that I had frozen, and pulp free %100 pure orange juice.....thanks for great recipe, will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Huntley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved it! I made it exactly to the recipe. It came out very nicely, it rose and everything. I think the cranberries were a bit tart, but it complemented the sweetness of the muffin, kinda giving it a "zing." I think the main secret to this that you can't learn from the recipe is to barely mix it. Stir just until mixed is a bit vague, but stir a numbered amount of circles. Like go slowly. I would bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These muffins are great! I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the recipe and used Craisins soaked in warm water instead of fresh cranberries. They turned out great! It made 12 muffins and a mini loaf of bread. The orange juice makes them so moist! The combination of orange and cranberry is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great easy, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are tart muffins, and I really like them. I suspect the original recipe creator used a sweetened orange juice, and I used an unsweetened orange juice. I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup, though. The batter is indeed a bit thin, and doesn't rise a great deal, as other commenters have noted. If you like the tart flavor of cranberries you will like this muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhiamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wow! What a delicious, simple recipe. I made the mistake of asking my 2 year old if he wanted an English muffin for breakfast this morning and all he heard was “muffin.” He ran around the house yelling, “Muffin, muffin, muffin!” I realized quickly that an English muffin would not do. So I jumped on the internet to find a quick recipe with ingredients that I had in the kitchen. This popped up. I tweaked it a bit. I added a little extra sugar to the batter. Next time I think that I will just double the sugar. There isn’t much to begin with and it could have used some more for our taste. I used craisons instead of cranberries, lemon zest instead of orange (didn’t have any oranges), and I tossed in some walnuts. I also added a streusel topping which paired perfectly with these muffins. (Streusel topping for a double recipe of muffins: combine ¾ cup flour, ¾ cup sugar, ¼ cup softened butter and 1 tablespoon water.) I was particularly impressed with the consistency of these muffins. They were moist and delicious. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Blah! Bitter, not enough sweet. They were moist but waaaay too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I just made these and substituted complete pancake mix for the flour and baking powder (because I didn't have any baking powder) and it came out GREAT!!! So easy to make (especially with the pancake mix!). I just went a little short on the other ingredients to make up for the already added sugar and salt in the pancake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I am not sure what went wrong, but I did not care for these muffins. I did substitute the oil for unsweetened applesauce, but I do that in ALL of my baking and I have never had a problem. Maybe it was the combination of applesauce and OJ. Whatever it was, I do not suggest this recipe, at least not if you want to sub out the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are great! The only change I made was adding 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States