Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Substituted 1/3 c. oil for shortening. Dried cranberries (a chopper or processor is easier than manual chopping). Used 1/2c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown, omitted ginger and added 3/4 c. sour cream. Used the zest and juice from a large naval orange. This made 48 mini muffins. Reduce baking time to 20 min. Perfect for office snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
very good and moist. i made these for a baby shower and did not use the cranberry sauce but an orange glaze. made them, froze them and defrosted them naturally. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these muffins with 1/3 cup of canola oil instead of shortening, and I chose to omit the topping as well. They were really really good and I loved the spices! The fact that they were dairy-free was an added bonus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This review is somewhat biased because I didn't follow the instructions exactly. I didn't want to bake with shortening, so I did what another reviewer suggested and substituted it with 1/3 cup of canola oil, reduced the OJ and added buttermilk. While the muffins were moist they seemed to lack flavour. I'll definitely eat up this batch as they weren't a total waste, but I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
OMG! These are the best! I mix the dry ingredients together and leave them in a zip lock bag for a few days. (Usually make that up ahead so on Thanksgiving I can bake these fresh. The flavors really work thru the flower and other ingredients this way, I think it is much better.) These are very moist. I really chop the cranberries in the mini processor, then pour them in juice and all to keep them moist. Don't overbake, or they can be dry. We love these, and have had them for over 15 years at Thanksgiving. I found this in a magazine many years ago, this is a tradition at our house. To store, keep in a zip lock bag, they are moist and the flavors get better as they sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Following the other reviewers' advice, I added 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Moist but seemed rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Made these as mini-muffins in Christmas muffin papers. Pretty color and tasted really good. Accidentally left out the spices and used pecans instead of walnuts. I chopped the pecans and then the cranberries in the food processor so pretty quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
i dident really like this recipe that much it dident have that great of test. It was ok in time and macking.If you like cranberrys and muffens this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Well, with the suggestions and comments of others I made a few changes and LOVED these muffins! I used dried cranberrys, added 1/2c packed brown sugar to the batter along with 3/4c sour cream for moisture. I also dirzzled them with frosting made from orange juice and powdered sugar in place of the cranberry sauce. These are sinful and should be made in moderation! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States