Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
WONDERFUL recipe though I did make a couple teeny tiny changes: (1) I did not have nuts so I left them out but they were good all the same :). (2) I did not have oranges to zest so I left them out but they still had a strong citrus flavor so I may continue to leave it out in the future. (3) I added salt, even if you use salted butter/margarine/shortening/etc always add a dash of salt to boost the flavors. (4) I added a dash of molasses to the mix to add depth to the spices. I also left out the spread as they are just fine on their own or with butter. I made a giant batch of mini-muffins with recipe to snack on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good orangy taste, cranberries work great with it. They are somewhat light (which can be good) but I think I'll try some sour cream in them next time for a little more denseness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My son and I whipped these up this afternoon and we ate half of them still warm. We both agree that they are wonderful. We used half brown and half white sugar and 1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice. I also did not have shortning, so I used vegtable oil. They are moist and so tasty. These may be the best muffins I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe. These muffins are more on the spicy side rather than tart though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These muffins were quite dry and overly sweet. They also needed more salt. If I make them again I will be modifying the recipe as others have reviewed and suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Seems too sweet, and too much nutmeg for our liking. maybe salt would help, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I did make several changes..I made them with Namaste gluten-free baking mix, part orange juice/part milk for the liquid as I only had one orange at home for juice,( no orange zest), used a scant 1/2 cup vegetable oil instead of shortening, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda for baking, and added a dash of lemon extract. Used thawed frozen cranberries and cut them in half and all the walnuts. They came out really delicious! And the cranberries and walnuts are so good for you! Gonna be great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very Good, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really liked this recipe!!! Very moist and easy to do. I added 1/4 t of salt, and next time I make them I'll do a little less nutmeg. It seemed to be the dominant flavor and had a slightly bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I just ate one of these about 2 minutes out of the oven, and it is EXCELLENT tasting! I kept the recipe pretty much as is, just put slightly more than 3/4 c of orange juice and no nuts (cause the kids won't eat them with nuts). Oh, and I used evaporated cane juice crystals instead of white sugar. They are FANTASTIC! My kids are gonna love these tomorrow morning. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States