Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wow! There are a lot of nuts in these. Even though I am a fan of nuts, I thought they overpowered the muffins. I thought these were just okay. A few of the older ladies liked these when I served them at Thanksgiving, but I had a lot left. Nobody went for the cranberry "spread" either. These muffins were a little dry and stuck to the muffin pan. If I were to make them again, I would definitely use liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flowerchick
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made these the other night looking for a new muffin recipe. For some reason I could not see the reviews so I just followed the recipe to the T all in all they are good but I found them to be very dry... Still can't see the reviews of what others have done so the next batch I think I will be doubling the OJ we shall see. Note I did not add the sauce on to them, thought it was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Love the flavor, but if you're not a nutmeg fan, you will want to cut the amount in half. I used fresh cranberries leftover from the holidays, so I didn't go all out and make the cranberry butter spread. Instead, I glazed the muffins with an orange cream cheese glaze which suited them very well. They definitely need some type of butter or cream cheese spread to serve on the side as they are on the dry side. Mine were fully baked at about 18min, so I can't image baking the full 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very tart with the cranberries. I think the muffin base on this recipe would go better with something less tart, such as apples or pumpkin. I would adjust the muffin base to have less spices, more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These muffins are amazing! SO moist and flavorful! The orange juice and zest really make these muffins. My family loved them. Hot out of the over they are dangerous!!! I can't wait to make them again! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I read some of the other reviews before making these muffins and added the 1/2 cup of sour cream to try and help with the texture. I also added a cup of white chocolate chips. The recipe made 24 good side muffins and while I liked the taste I found even with the sour cream these were a little on the dry side, ok recipe but not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The muffins were an absolute hit with my family this holiday season. I spent two mornings in a row making them because the first batch was devoured by nighttime! Few tweaks I made to the recipe were eliminating the orange zest and adding 2 cups of whole cranberries with 1/2 cup chopped cranberries. I also eliminated the nuts. To mix things up a bit, I also added some fresh blueberries to make a mixed berry version- they were delicious! These cranberry muffins will become a holiday tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I had these orange cranberry muffins from the store, and they were really good for store bought. I couldn't taste the orange though and I did not like them so big. I liked them for breakfast and I like it when you can grab it and go. So I wanted to make my own so I coud make them more orangy and put nuts and all that. I came across this recipe and thought it was worth a try! By the way I have never made muffins so this was fun! I made it like the recipe said but I made a few changes. I added to the dry ingrediants 1/4c lightly packed brown sugar and 3/4c cinnimon applesauce, I took out the orange zest and a little less orange juice and added DOTERRA esential oils of 11 drops of wild orange and 5 drops of tangerine (Cause I had it from DOTERRA and thought it might tast good) also put in about 2c of chopped pecans Well these were so moist and had a hint of orange, oh my I will make thes again they were so yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I needed these for company was coming in less than an hour and had a bag of cranberries left over from thanksgiving. I did have to make a few changes though since partly into mixing, I realized I didn't have everything! I mixed all my "wet" ingredients first along with oil (no shortening...) and then dumped the dry ingredients on top. (I do this with every single muffin recipe and it works perfectly every time, no need for 2 bowls ever). When I then noticed I was out of nutmeg to :( I found some all spice and threw that in. No orange zest to be had so just skipped that. I also added 4 tbsp sour cream just to be sure they would be super moist and then FOLDED THE BATTER WITH A FORK, GENTLY, TURNING THE BOWL, AS I CONTINUED TO BRING THE BATTER INTO THE CENTRE until it was just mixed. After spooning into the muffin pan, I sprinkled with a crumble topping of brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. PERFECT MUFFINS EVERY TIME... BE GENTLE. (also, no need to cut the cranberries up. They are wonderful whole as well. This is where people mess up their muffins. By beating the batter too hard with a fork (or worse, a mixer), you are removing the air from your muffin which is what makes them so moist, and rise perfectly when cooking. Keep it simple. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Different and delicious - especially while still warm! And my kitchen filled with a delicious aroma that smelled like cinnamon doughnuts. Rather than walnuts I added some white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States