Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I bought frozen meatballs both beef and turkey and they came out amazing! I was hesitant about the cranberry sauce because I don't usually like it but I changed my mind once I tasted it. I changed nothing about the recipe other than using frozen meatballs and letting them sit in a crock-pot on low for a few hours. Made these 4 times in a 2 week period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grljrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I was in a hurry (last-minute holiday party), so I used small, frozen meatballs, defrosted them, and threw them in a crock pot. I mixed the sauce ingredients in a saucepan, heated it and poured over the meatballs. I used 1 1/2 cans cranberry sauce and a bit less BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's) than the recipe called for, as I like a bit more of the cranberry flavor to come through. Took a box of toothpicks along to make them hors d'oeuvres for wandering partygoers and they were a hit. So yummy and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
All you need for delicious meatballs is one can of the cranberries and a bottle of ketchup....that makes for a delicious sauce. No need for the BBQ sauce, brown sugar, lemon juice. The ketchup and cranberry combination tastes just like a BBQ sauce. I also make with sliced up hillshire farms kielbasa.....everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe was very 'meh' for us. The meatballs tasted like meatloaf, which is fine, but I wanted that 'meatball consistency'. The sauce was pretty good, and was great to mop up with some bread. My boyfriend suggested using the leftovers on sub rolls. Probably won't make this again, or I will use pre-made meatballs if I do. I'd also double the cranberry sauce so it's not so barbecue-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
my boyfriend liked it. I gave it a lower score because it was really toooo sweet for my tastes. Tasted kinda like sweet and sour meatballs you'd get at a cocktail party :) It wasn't something I would normally make for a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This recipe made me the "Belle of the Ball" at my son's wedding! Everyone absolutely LOVED these meatballs at the reception. I used the recipe as is with Sweet Baby Ray's for the BBQ sauce and I've had so many requests for the recipe. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These came out great. I used 2 (15 oz) boxes of organic whole berry cranberry sauce, less than half a bottle of bbq sauce, and only 1TBS of brown sugar, based on the reviews. I didn't have lemon or orange juice, so I used pineapple juice. Serving it tonight over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good! A co-worker brought this to a pot luck and everyone was asking for the receipe including me. I'm going to make it tonight for dinner for the family to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
First off, let me just say that I am not reviewing the actual "meatball" recipe, as they are superfluous to the sauce (which is what I wanted this recipe for). If I can add this awesome sauce to frozen "homestyle" meatballs and have it taste as delicious as it does, then using any recipe for homemade meatballs would just be a bonus. I was looking for something other than the usual "chili sauce w/ grape jelly" and this recipe stood out from the crowd for me. I used Tyler Florence's West Coast Smoky BBQ Sauce (it was either his or Paula Deans) and followed the recipe to a T and it is the best sauce I've ever tasted. Even my guys, who are die-hard "gravy" meatball fans, loved it and kept asking for more! This is a no-fail awesome recipe that I will use over and over again - thanks Sarah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurDeLicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It's absolutely delicious! My kids would not even touch them if there is cranberry in the sauce. Yet, I have been making them every week. Every time I make the meatballs, the kids love em'. They're always asking for more. Absolutely Delicious!!! This is a must eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States