Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Crowd Pleaser! I varied as follows: 1 lb grd beef, 1 lb grd turkey. Mince 1 sm onion in food processor, add the eggs, soy sauce, pepper, garlic powder, ketchup, blend well, add meats, blend well, slowly add bread crumbs (plain). Make meatballs and bake per recipe. Sauce: make as above but mix in 4 chopped green onions just prior to adding the meatballs to the sauce. Opt: sprinkle 2 T. toasted sesame seeds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I'd either cut the sauce recipe by half or double the amount of sausages next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
used a cup of BBQ sauce. Wonderful flavor, must make these again very soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is a delicious traditional appetizer that everyone loves. To make it less sweet, use chili sauce instead of barbecue sauce. Also works well with frozen homestyle meatballs if time is a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I bought frozen meatballs both beef and turkey and they came out amazing! I was hesitant about the cranberry sauce because I don't usually like it but I changed my mind once I tasted it. I changed nothing about the recipe other than using frozen meatballs and letting them sit in a crock-pot on low for a few hours. Made these 4 times in a 2 week period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwidow Danger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I was in a hurry (last-minute holiday party), so I used small, frozen meatballs, defrosted them, and threw them in a crock pot. I mixed the sauce ingredients in a saucepan, heated it and poured over the meatballs. I used 1 1/2 cans cranberry sauce and a bit less BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's) than the recipe called for, as I like a bit more of the cranberry flavor to come through. Took a box of toothpicks along to make them hors d'oeuvres for wandering partygoers and they were a hit. So yummy and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
All you need for delicious meatballs is one can of the cranberries and a bottle of ketchup....that makes for a delicious sauce. No need for the BBQ sauce, brown sugar, lemon juice. The ketchup and cranberry combination tastes just like a BBQ sauce. I also make with sliced up hillshire farms kielbasa.....everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe was very 'meh' for us. The meatballs tasted like meatloaf, which is fine, but I wanted that 'meatball consistency'. The sauce was pretty good, and was great to mop up with some bread. My boyfriend suggested using the leftovers on sub rolls. Probably won't make this again, or I will use pre-made meatballs if I do. I'd also double the cranberry sauce so it's not so barbecue-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
my boyfriend liked it. I gave it a lower score because it was really toooo sweet for my tastes. Tasted kinda like sweet and sour meatballs you'd get at a cocktail party :) It wasn't something I would normally make for a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This recipe made me the "Belle of the Ball" at my son's wedding! Everyone absolutely LOVED these meatballs at the reception. I used the recipe as is with Sweet Baby Ray's for the BBQ sauce and I've had so many requests for the recipe. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States