Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Yes I have tried this recipe. Just got married and my huband eats rice, beans, cabbage, broccoli, spinach, spagetti, pizza ... catch my drift. Nothing of variety, so I am challenged to be creative and increase the food options. Fortunately he saw me put putting the corn flakes and the veggie patties during the preparation otherwise he would have quickly stated, "What's that you're putting in there, I don't eat that." Fabulous. I molded them large and used only 4 patties just in case he did not like it. He loved them. Thanks. I can now start to increase our options and it makes me feel good knowing there is something out there I can cook that he eats. They really came out perfect and of course, I left out the dipping sauce because... "I don't eat that."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I don't usually eat vegetarian food on purpose, but found out about Gardenburger's Mama Mia meatballs. I used left over homemade cranberry sauce left over from Thanksgiving. Maybe I won't be so hesitant to try veggie foods now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Mixture came out too wet. I had to add more crushed corn flakes and crackers. It would have been helpful to add the ounces used in the veggie burgers since sizes can vary quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I was happy with the way this recipe turned out, although I did make a few changes. I used Morningstar Recipe Crumbles rather than whole patties and slivered almonds instead of walnuts because that was what I had on hand. I also substituted sweet and sour sauce for both the chili sauce and the Russian dressing called for, and used slightly less cream cheese and round crackers than the quantities given. Finally, I used Honey Bunches of Oats instead of regular cornflakes. The mixture didn't hold together well enough to be shaped into meatballs, so I ended up plopping them in the baking pan like cookies, but they tasted great. My brother said they didn't taste anything like regular meatballs, but he ate them anyway, and my mother loved the sauce. Thanks for the recipe; I will probably make it again and try it with more of the original ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Love these veggyballs! Changes I made to up the fibre/health factor: replaced corn flakes and crackers with crushed PC ancient grains organic cereal; used milled flaxseed and wholegrain rice to replace half the chopped walnuts. Thanks again for this contribution--I may never go back to meatballs again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Sooooo good! I could eat these all the time! Made them for a party - most people thought they were real meat. I used a package of "buger crumbles" instead of the veggie burger patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I like quick & easy so I used Mama Lucia frozen meatballs,which we love. I didn't have russian dressing so I took the advice of another viewer and used some BBQ sauce. also added a wee bit of heat with hot sauce,& a dash of worchestershire sauce. Turned out great! Husband loved them,taking to a after Christmas party this eve! Let ya know later how the liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Loved this recipe, but would leave out walnuts, use Ritz crackers, freeze after cooking without sauce. Defrost in refrig. adding sauce, overnight. Warm up before party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were just good for me, not outstanding. Maybe I'm just not accustomed to the texture of whatever the veggie patties are made of. I agree that the balls should be drizzled, as I found the color of the cranberry sauce not-so attractive, and with the balls all mixed in there, it was blah looking (to me). I'm going to try them for a shower, and see how they go over. The flavor WAS really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
By boyfriend made this recipe for me, and it turned out so good! He's not a cook, and he didn't really chop the walnuts making them hard to shape into balls, and added the cranberry sauce to the mixture instead of using it for sauce (like I mentioned, not a cook). With all the mistakes, it still turned out excellent! Makes quite a bit of balls, and they are very rich, but a declicious treat that is fun to make and practically fool-proof. Other users mentioned that the Russian dressing was too overpowering, but I did not find this to be the case. Perhaps because we had double the cranberry sauce, one can in the mixture and one can for the sauce. I wouldn't recommend this though, the extra can in the mixture makes it too sticky to form into proper balls. All in all, 5 stars because it seems like no matter what you do throw it all together and you have a great meal for meat-eaters and vegitarians alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoey alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States