Cranberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This has become a staple for Christmas breakfast and we give it as gifts. The orange juice, zest and graham crackers really make it stand out. The only changes we make is to leave out the raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Yummy! I doubled the recipe and then used 1 cup white flour/1 cup wheat flour. (OK, I admit that I DID omit the raisins, but I'm sure many can commiserate with my anti-raisin stance!) The result was a dense but flavorful loaf. This recipe is NOT for a Twinkie-like, fluffy cake loaf studded with little cranberry pearls: this loaf means business! My wheat flour addition made it ready to be packed for a hike! It was yummy to boot. Great idea to have graham cracker crumbs in it- I think it made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I really didn't care for this recipe. It seemed very bitter, most likely due to the cranberries and no sugar. I'm guessing for diabetics it might be good but it's kind of bland. If I were to try making it again I probably would drizzle some frosting over it just to give it some flavor and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
so good and easy to make not so sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grimace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this bread and left out the raisins and nuts. My family prefers it that way. It was wonderful! I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I had some cranberries and wasn't sure what I wanted to do with them, so I found this recipe. I started making it and realized that I didn't have orange juice. I wanted to keep on going, so I put skim milk instead of orange juice, and it came out really good. I didn't use raisins (because I don't like them). I also used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat flour. The loaf turned out delicious and not too sweet, which I love. By the way, I only baked it 45 minutes. I suspect the time depends on your oven, so just make sure you check it frequently after 40 minutes, to make sure it doesn't burn or overcook and become too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Too dry and crumbly and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this loaf for my Christmas baking this year. The taste was good, but was a wee bit disappointed because the texture was very crumbly, when cut into slices. Because of this, I likely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very cool recipe with a few heart healthy changes. I used Splenda Brown Sugar Substitue in place of the regular brown sugar and omitted the oil altogether. I used 1 cup of whole cranberries in sauce (leftover from Christmas dinner) and cut the o.j. to half a cup. Also added 1/2 cup craisins and used 1/2 cup raisins. I didnt have any nuts other than pecans but decided against using them as with it taking an hour to bake - didn't want the delicate pecans to burn. I also had no oranges for the zest but the o.j. was enough to flavour it. It turned out to be a very nice, dense bread with lots of zing and I especially liked the use of the graham wafer crumbs - different! Thanks for the recipe, with the above changes, I imagine it cut the fat by at least 2/3rds! Every little bit helps in the battle of the waist-line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
To much like fruit cake for my faimly. However it is a fine recipe if you like that type of loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States