Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Fantastic cookie! I did change one thing, I added 3/4 cup softened butter (butter and egg can be creamed together, just looks funny) and it did wonderfully! Also, several people are concerned about the brown sugar hardening. Just cut a piece of bread (1/4) and place in the top of the jar and it will keep everything fresh and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sthrnfriedmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Texas, USA
Living In: Gatesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Horray For Cranberry Hootycreeks! I tested these out last night on my family and felt like I was cheating on my best friend all time favorite.....Chocolate! But the picture looked so pretty and I needed a fun gift to give to Real Estate Clients and friends for Christmas so I took a chance. These were absolutely amazing we were all cheering! I am going to try them with whole wheat flour! Chocolate....step aside, Cranberry Hootycreeks are here to stay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellece Strong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Makes a pretty gift. I liked 2 ways of layering. #1 brown suger, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, salt, soda, oats, flour. #2 flour, oats, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great and easy gift! Thanks for he recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Mahomet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Butter & eggs CAN be creamed easily with a mixture: make sure to only soften the butter, not melt (which can cause the egg to partially cook and curdle). I tried this recipe both with & without nuts. With nuts, I crushed them myself and got them too fine. Will be getting them from store pre-prepped for my gift batch. Without nuts it has a very biscuit-y texture to it & requires longer bake time. Going to try adding 1/4-1/2 cup more of oats next time. They bake just fine on un-greased aluminum foil, just add an extra minute or two. Everything I used was off-brand or store-brand products & turned out great! No need to get fancy with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Just made a test batch and they are definitely going to be my gifts in a jar this year! I accidently made them vegan because I didn't have any butter or eggs in the house (discovered after I started making them) so I used Earth Balance margarine and egg replacer mix. They turned out fantastic! The mix doesn't quite fill a quart jar so I'm going to use some crumbled was paper as another reviewer suggested. I also baked mine about twice as long. I think it's because I was using a light aluminum cookie sheet my old brown ones would have browned them much faster. In all, they made 20 normal sized cookies. And besides being beautiful in the jar, they are EXCELLENT to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very pretty and tasty too! Made for family members and teacher gifts! Well received and appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made these to eat instead of for gifts. They are fabulous and quite pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great holiday gift for teachers, neighbors, and taste good too! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Looks great in jar, makes a beautiful cookie, but me and my daughter just thought they tasted o.k. Still looking for my gift in a jar, this didn't do it for us on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States