Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Makes a pretty gift. I liked 2 ways of layering. #1 brown suger, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, salt, soda, oats, flour. #2 flour, oats, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great and easy gift! Thanks for he recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Mahomet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Butter & eggs CAN be creamed easily with a mixture: make sure to only soften the butter, not melt (which can cause the egg to partially cook and curdle). I tried this recipe both with & without nuts. With nuts, I crushed them myself and got them too fine. Will be getting them from store pre-prepped for my gift batch. Without nuts it has a very biscuit-y texture to it & requires longer bake time. Going to try adding 1/4-1/2 cup more of oats next time. They bake just fine on un-greased aluminum foil, just add an extra minute or two. Everything I used was off-brand or store-brand products & turned out great! No need to get fancy with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Just made a test batch and they are definitely going to be my gifts in a jar this year! I accidently made them vegan because I didn't have any butter or eggs in the house (discovered after I started making them) so I used Earth Balance margarine and egg replacer mix. They turned out fantastic! The mix doesn't quite fill a quart jar so I'm going to use some crumbled was paper as another reviewer suggested. I also baked mine about twice as long. I think it's because I was using a light aluminum cookie sheet my old brown ones would have browned them much faster. In all, they made 20 normal sized cookies. And besides being beautiful in the jar, they are EXCELLENT to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very pretty and tasty too! Made for family members and teacher gifts! Well received and appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made these to eat instead of for gifts. They are fabulous and quite pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great holiday gift for teachers, neighbors, and taste good too! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Looks great in jar, makes a beautiful cookie, but me and my daughter just thought they tasted o.k. Still looking for my gift in a jar, this didn't do it for us on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW! My husband and daughter both said these are their new favorite cookies! I wanted to test it out before I gave it as a gift. I only added 1/4 tsp salt because my butter was salted (which is probably why some of the reviews say its salty). Also I love the idea of mixing the two sugars so the brown sugar doesn't harden. All in all- a GREAT recipe... can't wait to give it as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Fantastic--fun to have something unique to give away! I actually just made the cookies--but I might have to give the jars now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States