Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
very nice cookie although I had to bake these longer then 10 minutes. so the second batch I bakes at 190C for 10 minutes and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aDavis
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The cookies themsleves are quite good, but I'm just ecstatic about the presentation in the jar!! Overall, a very nice cookie :) I did not have trouble filling the jar at all (used 1qt Ball smooth jar from Hobby Lobby). It was right to the top - I layerd like this: 5/8c flour, then soda & salt, oats, 1/2c flour, cranberries, choc chips, pecans, and lastly - brown & white sug combined on top. Thanks Susan for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These cookies are awesome. The perfect holiday cookie and look so nice in the jar. The egg, butter and vanilla blend well, as long as you beat it with a hand mixer, for quite a while too to make it fluffy. This is a keeper for me and will be made over and over again. BTW, the recipe makes exactly 18 cookies. Many, many recipes I have tried are way off on the number it will serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This will be my third Christmas baking these and packing them up to gift to our neighbors. You can mix and match the add-ins (semi-sweet chocolate chips, walnuts, butterscotch chips) though I find the original recipe is perfect as-is. I cream the butter and sugars first until the texture is light and fluffy, then add the egg. I also sift in the dry ingredients. The cookies come out moist and light every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Beaconsfield, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made these as teacher gifts for my son to take to school for the holidays. I hadn't tried to recipe, I just went on the reviews of others. I had enough ingredients to make a batch for us to try after I had finished filling the jars. HOLY COW!! WHERE have these cookies been all my life? They are AMAZING and our new favorites! Thank you for posting this recipe. It is going into our personal collection to be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I gave a variation of this out for Christmas last year (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips) and everyone LOVED them! The only problem I have is that I can't find a better recipe for this year (or one even close).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My aunt made these and gave it as Christmas gifts with the recipe so I had to find it on here and add to my recipe box... SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyt88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Fantastic cookie! I did change one thing, I added 3/4 cup softened butter (butter and egg can be creamed together, just looks funny) and it did wonderfully! Also, several people are concerned about the brown sugar hardening. Just cut a piece of bread (1/4) and place in the top of the jar and it will keep everything fresh and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sthrnfriedmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Texas, USA
Living In: Gatesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Horray For Cranberry Hootycreeks! I tested these out last night on my family and felt like I was cheating on my best friend all time favorite.....Chocolate! But the picture looked so pretty and I needed a fun gift to give to Real Estate Clients and friends for Christmas so I took a chance. These were absolutely amazing we were all cheering! I am going to try them with whole wheat flour! Chocolate....step aside, Cranberry Hootycreeks are here to stay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Makes a pretty gift. I liked 2 ways of layering. #1 brown suger, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, salt, soda, oats, flour. #2 flour, oats, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate chips, nuts, flour, brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States