Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I gave several "Hootycreeks" as gifts this year, and they were received with rave reviews! Changes I made: I wrapped the two sugars in green plastic wrap and packed them at the top of the jars. I listed all the ingredients like a recipe on one side of the card, and on the other changed the instructions to read: "Cream your butter with top two layers from jar; beat in your egg and vanilla until fluffy." Many recipients also asked about the name; can anyone tell me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
LOVED these!! Made about a dozen of them for Holiday gifts and they were super easy and tasted excellent! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKL
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
LOVE these cookies!! I gave these as Christmas gifts to teachers at our daughter's school in England. Everyone raved about them! I altered the layering in the jars, and used Vanilla Powder instead of having the recipient add extract. And I made a quadruple batch to share with tons of people! All loved them! I do agree with others that less white chocolate & more cranberries is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I received this as a gift for christmas. I personally don't like fruits in my cookies or sweets so I thought for sure I would not like these cookies, but I was wrong! I took the jar to my boyfriend's house, and made them there. His WHOLE family loved them!! The cookies disappeared within 30 minutes of making them. The next day was New Years, so I ended up making these cookies again for a party. This time I doubled the recipe, and it was a hit. Out of all the food at the party, these cookies were the first to disappear and everyone kept telling me how good they were. I definitely recommend this recipe for any event. I guarantee everyone will love them. BTW, I did not alter this recipe or do anything differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Super easy to make and absolutely delicious! My entire family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by taterific
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These cookies were good, but not my favorite, although a few friends I gave the jars to for Christmas loved them. Some made them into bars. I found they were better with certain "better" brands of white chocolate chips than with more "available" brands. I had to let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet as they were much to pliable to take off immediately; if I left then in the oven any longer they became too dark and crisp. The jars made lovely gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A coworker makes these every year for us. I love them! Looks so pretty in the jar and they taste great. I get 3 dozen cookies from a quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these as written to try before I packaged them for gifts - they were very yummy! Being a seasoned baker, I was skeptical also of the directions to cream the butter and the egg but decided to try the recipe as-written. I figured the recipe couldn't have gotten a 5 star rating from 544 reviews if it was flawed. :) As far as the butter and egg...I got impatient after several minutes of beating with my hand mixer and just ended up throwing the jar ingredients in a hoping for the best. The butter and egg yolk fats/proteins emulsified but there was a little liquid/water left in the bowl that never mixed in (as I expected). No worries though, the end result was great! I measured everything into the jar as written but will probably do them in reverse order for gifts so the most colorful ingredients end up at the bottom since I'll have the top covered with a bit of fabric - just my packaging preference. I also opted to throw in a tsp of powdered vanilla (Nielsen Massey,) so that it is one less ingredient the recipient has to add (my only tiny modification). The dough was dry & crumbly but came together easily since I opted to roll it into balls (golf-ball sized, pressed down slightly on parchment lined pans) - I got 14. Since mine were a little on the larger size, they ended up baking 13-14 minutes. Great little cookie that will make a beautiful little gift!! One question though...were does the name come from??!??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I did not make the jars as gifts. Instead I decided to make them and give the baked cookies. I found that mixing the 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of butter was just not enough to make a batter. It was very dry and powdery I added a 2nd egg and that seemed to do the trick. It was very tasty cookie and would probably do it again.. I'm thinking the probably was the egg I used might have just been small.. Probably will be sure to use extra large egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are absolutely fantastic. I have had this recipe for YEARS and finally, after about 5 years or so, I decided to try it. My only regret is that I didn't make these sooner. i tried the recipe as written before making the jars, and I had one small issue: the butter, egg, and vanilla never got fluffy, but the cookies were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States