Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I played around with this recipe too much, but I am still impressed. Instead of using cherries, I tried to incorporate the bag of fresh cranberries I had lying around into a mixture that already had jellied sauce. This can be done without a hitch, but I somehow added twice the liquid after, so my poor salad turned out like applesauce. BUT! I decided to throw the mixture in the blender and freeze it, which turned out to be a lovely sorbet. It sort of tastes like wildberry and the consistency is soft due to the gelatin, I suppose. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was really good! I left out the nuts. Instead of using it like a regular jello, I used it on top of the very popular strawberry pretzel jello. Instead of the traditional strawberry topping that goes on the pretzel jello, I used this topping instead for Christmas. It looked so pretty and festive and everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My family loved this! We had it on Christmas Eve and everyone agreed it was a keeper. We made it without the nuts so it would be more kid friendly. No suggestions for improvement, it is great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was very good! It was not like jello though. It looked like it would be able to be cut and served in chunks but when I went to serve it, it kind of gooyed on the plate. It was definitely more of like a cranberry sauce but sweet and really good! I will remember this one for Thanksgiving next year as a cranberry sauce side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Well, I goofed the first time I made this recipe and used 1 3-oz. pkg. jello instead of 1 6-oz. pkg. However, my guests loved it as a sauce on their ham and thought it was a delicious mistake. The second time, I followed the recipe correctly and loved the firm jello, too. Great taste, color and texture! I left out the pecans since my family is not big on nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe is SO GOOD! I make this for the holidays using my Pampered Chef Fluted Pan for a pretty molded shape. I fill the center with sour cream and additional chopped pecans. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I added an extra package of unflavored gelatin and thought it got too hard. However, my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving this year. I used whole cranberry sauce instead of jellied and cherries. I couldnt find cranberry jello as reviewers suggested, so I used the cherry as in the recipe. I also made the tangy cream cheese topping as suggested by a reviewer - this is what I think made the whole thing. If I hadnt made the cream cheese icing for it, I think it would have been just a plain cranberry salad - nothing spectacular. But people did like it w/ the cream cheese icing... may or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I don't like pineapple so I didn't try it. But my family liked it at Thanksgiving. It's a good alternative to plain jellied cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made as stated. Fantastic everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States