Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I played around with this recipe too much, but I am still impressed. Instead of using cherries, I tried to incorporate the bag of fresh cranberries I had lying around into a mixture that already had jellied sauce. This can be done without a hitch, but I somehow added twice the liquid after, so my poor salad turned out like applesauce. BUT! I decided to throw the mixture in the blender and freeze it, which turned out to be a lovely sorbet. It sort of tastes like wildberry and the consistency is soft due to the gelatin, I suppose. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was really good! I left out the nuts. Instead of using it like a regular jello, I used it on top of the very popular strawberry pretzel jello. Instead of the traditional strawberry topping that goes on the pretzel jello, I used this topping instead for Christmas. It looked so pretty and festive and everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My family loved this! We had it on Christmas Eve and everyone agreed it was a keeper. We made it without the nuts so it would be more kid friendly. No suggestions for improvement, it is great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was very good! It was not like jello though. It looked like it would be able to be cut and served in chunks but when I went to serve it, it kind of gooyed on the plate. It was definitely more of like a cranberry sauce but sweet and really good! I will remember this one for Thanksgiving next year as a cranberry sauce side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Well, I goofed the first time I made this recipe and used 1 3-oz. pkg. jello instead of 1 6-oz. pkg. However, my guests loved it as a sauce on their ham and thought it was a delicious mistake. The second time, I followed the recipe correctly and loved the firm jello, too. Great taste, color and texture! I left out the pecans since my family is not big on nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe is SO GOOD! I make this for the holidays using my Pampered Chef Fluted Pan for a pretty molded shape. I fill the center with sour cream and additional chopped pecans. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I added an extra package of unflavored gelatin and thought it got too hard. However, my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving this year. I used whole cranberry sauce instead of jellied and cherries. I couldnt find cranberry jello as reviewers suggested, so I used the cherry as in the recipe. I also made the tangy cream cheese topping as suggested by a reviewer - this is what I think made the whole thing. If I hadnt made the cream cheese icing for it, I think it would have been just a plain cranberry salad - nothing spectacular. But people did like it w/ the cream cheese icing... may or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I don't like pineapple so I didn't try it. But my family liked it at Thanksgiving. It's a good alternative to plain jellied cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made as stated. Fantastic everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States