Cranberry Crunch Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I put some crumb mixture on bottom of pan first then added cranberries then some more crumb mixture on top... It was great the day I made it especially with some whipped topping on top... yum yum... only thing was it got soggy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I had so much leftover cranberry sauce, I decided to make this like a cobbler. Instead of using melted butter for the topping, I cut some cold butter into the mixture, and it turned out nice and crunchy. Soooo good with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I found this recipe when I was searching to find an easy recipe to use up some leftover cranberry sauce. I will definitely cut the butter next time, probably in half. But otherwise I thought it was very tasty. I only had a little cranberry sauce, so I made individual desserts in ramekins. I just put my cranberries straight on the bottom of the ramekins and topped them with the topping. Then I served them warm with ice cream. It's like a very easy cobbler! Maybe not what the recipe was intended for, but yummy nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very good, but sticky! Beware... I would recommend using non-stick wax paper or non-stick aluminum foil to line to pan with because otherwise it is difficult to remove the pieces without them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This is a good recipe with a few minor adjustments, reduce the butter to 1 1/2 sticks or 3/4 a cup, I reduced sugar to 1 2/3 cups and used only one cup brown and the rest white. I patted half of the crumb mixture on the bottom of a 13x9 pan, used my hands to "crumble" on the cranberry sauce (no need to spread really) evenly, and sprinkled on the rest of the oat mixture on top. I threw in some dried cranberries for texture with the jellied cranberry and topped the whole thing off with 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. They were AWESOME! No eggs or milk so its great for restricted diets, next I will try it with even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I used this recipe to finish up some leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. (I made about a 1/2 portion of the recipe in a 8x8 glass baking dish.) It came out of the oven about an hour ago, and I've already sneaked 2 little squares! They taste good! I did the same process as many, split the crumbs to be half on the bottom, half on top. I probably would even put just a little more on the bottom, to give the squares a little more strength as you pick them up. I cut the butter down to a little more than half, and that worked out fine. I also added some dried cranberries to the cranberry sauce, and I'm glad I did. I wound up with a very thin layer of cranberry sauce when I spread it on, but it turned out to be more than enough. I wouldn't consider increasing the amount of sauce. So far they taste GREAT warm, but they need to cool some more before I officially cut them into squares. (edited to add: About half of them were stuck to the bottom of the pan, so I only got about 8 small squares and the rest was more "crumbly". Would line iwth aluminum foil next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
The comments by KARENMOONAH were very helpful to me. I used an 8x8 inch pan, but I didn't have to scale down the recipe. I also layered the topping on the bottom, so the cranberry was in the middle. I used whole berry cranberry sauce. It was wonderful. My husband, who does not really enjoy cranberries loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
The cookies were very delicious. And easy to make! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Very tasty. Only there was too much butter. Next time I will only use 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter. I line my pan with Reynolds Release non-stick foil, it works better than Teflon, grease, or anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Sorry, but this recipe did not turn out for me. It was really too greasy and buttery -- 1 cup of butter is waaaaay too much. The melted butter just kind of welled up on the sides. It didn't cut into squares -- it just crumbled, even after following advice of other reviewers. Maybe I will try heating it up and serving with ice cream. (edited to add: Nope! It has been in my refrigerator for a looong time now, and I think its time to toss it. Yucko.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States