Cranberry Crunch Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband loves these! And he almost never likes a dessert made with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this recipe because I usually have an extra can of cranberry sauce in the cupboard and it's a great way to use it. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 c chopped pecans, and half spread/half canola oil. I only had quick oats in the cupboard and maybe that's why it wasn't more crisp or held together better, but it's so good you could eat it with a spoon! Next time I will try regular rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Took advise of other reviewers and used 1 c brown sugar & 1/2 c butter. Pressed 1/2 in bottom of 8X8 pan, bottom lined with parchment paper, added sliced jelly (easier than spreading) & topped with remaining mixture. Does not hold together well at all (maybe a little more butter would help) but tastes wonderful. Would be outstanding served warm with a little vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I don't actually eat cranberry sauce so I whipped these up with some holiday leftovers. I completely omitted the extra sugar since the homeade cranberry sauce had pineapples in it already and I felt like there was way too much sugar called for anyway. Delicious reworking of a holiday classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I followed some other reviewers suggestions and cut the butter and sugar. I put the oatmeal mixture on the bottom and top. I put it in the fridge after it cooled and had no problem cutting it into bars, and they kept their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We made as a crisp, I'm not a fan of cranberry, but my family & friends liked it. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These were very good. I mashed the cranberry sauce well, and added a little bit of lemon extract to it. Also, I divided the oat mixture in two, and pressed half on the bottom of the pan, and sprinkled the other half on top. All in all very yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were crazy good. I couldn't believe it. Next time I will use another post's suggestion and make a bottom and top layer of "crust" and fill with cranberry mixture. However, after the second day, it was fine. You could pick up the "bar" and eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This brought back child hood memories! It was a favorite of mine served in my elementary school cafeteria. The only thing ill do different is use two cans of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiki's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
As written, these are too sweet and full of butter! I read some of the reviews before making it, but its been a while . . . anyway, after it cooled off the butter reabsorbed but holy butter when I took it out of the oven! Good thing I don't need my cholesterol checked this week!. . . . seriously, they are good, but I would halve the butter and halve or 1/4 the sugar. You do not need that much! And thats why they only get 3 stars in my book. However, I did like how the sugar carmelized. Kinda nice and I've never had a cobbler/cookie do that. I made as written, although I toyed with making like cookies as others have. I used a 8x8 pan instead of 9x13 bc I like cobblers and cookies that way. I may make this again, but definitely not with that amount of butter or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States