Cranberry Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
These were pretty good, but a little bland. I would maybe add some cinnamon to the crust/streusel topping. Also, after sitting out for a while they became a little wet and soggy. Keeping them chilled is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYBOR72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I can't go higher than 4 stars as-is. It's "good," not great. I doubled the cranberries per other suggestions, and believe that is necessary. I think I'll double the cream cheese next time & add an egg to make it more of a "real" cheese cake center, and I'll add some cinnamon to the crust/topping per previous comments. but I will try it again this holiday season until I find the right combo of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe is a good one - I like it and my coworkers LOVE it. Probably would be better with homemade cranberry sauce if you have it leftover(especially since I make mine with OJ - that would make these heavenly!) Some tweaking: I added half-teaspoon or so of cinnamon and a sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice to the crust - good flavor! Also, I only put about 3/4 cup of oats into the crust initially, and added more flour to make up for it. I think this made for a sturdier crust. I mixed an additional 1/4 cup of oats into just the topping part, to give it some crunch. I also sprinkled the top with additional brown sugar to give it more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
this recipe is one of the best i have ever tried. i made home made cranberry sauce which made is so much better,my inlaws,and ex-inlaws really loved it, wants me to keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
02-13 These were a big hit at our house! Very rich - a small piece really satisfies the sweet tooth. I reduced the sugar down to 2/3 cup. Perhaps a little more cranberry sauce would go well next time, but overall fabulous! Will definitely make more from time to time. Updated 11-13 - Have made these many more times, doubling the cranberry filling per other's suggestions and adding 1/4 tsp lemon extract to the cream cheese for an extra "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These were good, but could have used a little more "zing". I will make them again, but will probably add a little more lemon flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of my fave Christmas recipes but I know them as Merry Berry Bars! The first time I made them myself I accidentally used too much lemon juice--1/2 cup instead of 1/4. It actually was a happy accident b/c it was very good that way and I've made it that way since! Gives it an extra bit of zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
We followed the recipe exactly. They turned out wonderful! Very easy to make and with stuff we always have on hand during the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
my kids didnot like cranberry till i made these cookie they loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I agree that this needs something. The crust is bland - maybe more sugar in it? I added 1/3 more cream cheese only because I wanted to use up what I had - and it was excellent filling. Definately need more cranberry -- I even thought this recipe would be delicious using strawberry preserves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States