Cranberry Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this exactly like the recipe & it was fine, but I could barely taste the cream cheese filling,so mainly this recipe gave me a new idea for my own recipe.I think the filling/cranberry proportions should be reversed; ie, mostly cheesecake-like filling with just a garnish or hint of cranberry. But I do like cranberry-anything, so I'll make this again except double (or maybe even triple) the filling and make it more of a true cheesecake: use sour cream instead of sweetened condensed milk and maybe add an egg. (This made a pretty large amount, so I may keep the filling amount the same and cut the topping in half, & do it in an 8" square pan.) I always make my cranberry sauce with half the sugar and substitute orange juice for half the water, and this tasted really good. I also used fat-free cream cheese and fat-free sweetened condensed milk, and these both worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I didn't like this. It was messy to make. Messy to cut. Messy to eat. If it had tasted a bit better it would have been worth it but it did not, so it wasn't. I was going to try to make it again but, since I perfectly followed the instructions, I don't see how it would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
02-13 These were a big hit at our house! Very rich - a small piece really satisfies the sweet tooth. I reduced the sugar down to 2/3 cup. Perhaps a little more cranberry sauce would go well next time, but overall fabulous! Will definitely make more from time to time. Updated 11-13 - Have made these many more times, doubling the cranberry filling per other's suggestions and adding 1/4 tsp lemon extract to the cream cheese for an extra "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Good way to use up cranberries from thanksgiving. Didn't have quite enough cranberries so i supplemented them with some cherry jelly. Doubled cream cheese to be more proportionate with crust. Added 1 teaspoon of salt to crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I agree that this needs something. The crust is bland - maybe more sugar in it? I added 1/3 more cream cheese only because I wanted to use up what I had - and it was excellent filling. Definately need more cranberry -- I even thought this recipe would be delicious using strawberry preserves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. I made it with homemade cranberry sauce and it turned out wonderful. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
my daughter made this using my homemade cranberry sauce and it was delicious. My son in law voted this desert the best one on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These were good, but could have used a little more "zing". I will make them again, but will probably add a little more lemon flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Pretty good. Would be MUCH better with more cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of my fave Christmas recipes but I know them as Merry Berry Bars! The first time I made them myself I accidentally used too much lemon juice--1/2 cup instead of 1/4. It actually was a happy accident b/c it was very good that way and I've made it that way since! Gives it an extra bit of zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States