Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I HATE cranberries... but I LOVE this! I prefer it served hot rather than cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is the first time Ive ever made chutney.. it was sooo easy! I was looking for a chutney recipe to use with our brie at our family xmas dinner. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of cutting back on the cidar vinegar to 1/4 cup and adding 2 tbsp brown sugar. With a little chopped almonds on top..and heated up.. its to die for!!! Thanks for such a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is really good. I too reduced the vinegar to 2 tbsp. I also added zest of 1 navel orange and the juice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
It's the only cranberry topping I've ever been able to enjoy. I wouldn't go a Thanksgiving without after having made it for a few years in a row, and it always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Everyone absolutely RAVED about this! It was so flavorful and the apple-cider vinegar gave it a nice twist (but I only used 1/3 cup). I loved that it wasn't just cranberries, the other fruits gave nice textures and the apples balanced out the tartness of the cranberries. I used whole cranberry sauce instead of fresh cranberries and it turned out fine, I just had to boil it down longer because of the extra fluid. Will definately be making this for future Thanksgivings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Easy recipe. It got a lot of compliments at our office Thanksgiving pot luck, I thought the flavor of cider vinegar and allspice was too strong though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is an absoltely addictive chutney, with layers of flavor. I substitued craisins for raisins, and used two whole cinnamon sticks, 10 whole cloves, a nub of fresh ginger and a sprinkle of cayenne for heat. I also reduced the vinegar just slightly, but don't think that is necessary. Once the chutney sits and the flavors meld, the vinegar flavor really mellows out. I'm making another huge batch of this for Christmas gifts today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Ever since I came across this recipe a few years ago, I have used nothing else since. It's become a tradition to serve it. I do add 1/2 c. walnuts. Thanks for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Great recipe! I got several sceptics to try this and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing. I wouldnt cahnge a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I have made this several times now as it is the recipe people ask me to bring to Thanksgiving and Christmas - which is great because it is a snap to make! It always creates a stir though...just something more interesting than your "canned" cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States