Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this as written but used apple cider instead of water. I added walnuts as suggested by another reviewer and a pinch of cayenne. I wasn't thrilled with the result that day, or even a few days later but a week or so later I ate this with brie and crackers and it mellowed out and blended wonderfully! I canned this using 8 oz jelly jars and a boiling water bath with a processing time of 10 minutes (per the Ball canning recommendations for a similar cranberry chutney recipe). The chopped apple loses some of its texture after canning but the recipe as a whole remains wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this instead of the "cranberry sauce in the shape of a can" that my family has every year. At first it was hard to get people to try it cause it was different. But once they did, they were hooked! I had NO leftovers and every one was asking for the recipe!! GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Soooo easy and yummy! good with creme cheese and crackers or on a turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was ok. Thought it called for too much vinager. If I make it again I will use a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misstanai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was great @ Thanksgiving '09! If you use the vinegar you really do need to give it time to age. This recipe is reprinted here, on this site, with the same name, same ingredients, same submitter, and same description, but different reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I loved this. I made it to accompany Breaded Pork Tenderloin from this site. I was out of raisins, but substituted chopped, dried apricots and loved the result. Thanks for a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I did not like this chutney. It was very tart, almost bitter. Didn't like the cinnamon taste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
excellent cranberry chutney. went with less sugar, about 1/4 cup, so it was quite tart, the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe is quite delicious. I made this last holiday season and it was a hit with myself and the wife. However, it was very spicy when originally made. It had a lot of bite once it was reduced. I sqouze some orange juice to balance the spicyness to our taste. I also used golden raisins as I prefered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good! I used half white sugar, half brown sugar, and cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States