Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My mother absolutely loved this recipe for tea time, and and I thought that it went great with the turkey meat. As suggested, I only put in a few drops of the cider vinegar. Since I have a Russian family that's used to the most basic "butter and salt" flavors copied from the French, the cinnamon & cloves were not to everyone's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Even the non-craberry eaters at my table enjoyed this dish. Next time I make it, I would increase the sugar a small amount and decrease the vinegar. The vinegar seemed a bit overpowering to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious combination of flavors! I didn't have fresh berries, so was looking for a recipe that used canned whole berry "sauce". I decided to try it with this one, and it worked beautifully. i used one can in place of water, sugar and berries. kept the rest the same. cooks up faster (since the berries are done) and tasted fantastic. everyone loved it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Delicious! I can't wait to serve it to guests on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The tanginess on this dish with the sweet is excellent. I substituted pears for apples and added toasted pecans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaFoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This chutney is so easy to make, so healthy, and so delicious! It was also a big hit at Thanksgiving and requested for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purr2me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This really came out wonderful except that the cider vinegar was very overwelming in the flavour. Next time I would omit it or at least reduce the amount of cider vinegar. It made it tast weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good but I'll cut back the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
We did not care for this. Granted, my family is used to the cranberry sauce out of the can, but this was just BAD! We actually had to remove it from the Thanksgiving table :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this in addition to the Blue Cranberry Sauce (also on this site) for Thanksgiving this year. It was really good. As per other reviewers I reduced the amount of vinegar to 2 Tbsp. (plenty). I also chose to omit the raisins and instead added 1/4 c. diced dried apricots. Just before serving I mixed in some chopped walnuts. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States