Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I make this every Thanksgiving. I put in slightly less apple cider vinegar. It's great with Turkey, chicken or on cinnamon toast. Yummy!! -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This has become a family fav. I use less sugar, turns out fabulous every time. Love the fact that you can make it a day or two ahead - which makes things much easier when you're having guests or making lots of other things - and it actually turns out better as the flavours have a chance to meld. Just make sure you take it out of the fridge with enough time to bring it back up to room temp. I might jar this and give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Just made this tonight and loved it. I did cut back the vinegar to only 1/4 Cup and thought it may have actually needed more, also maybe cut the water back to 3/4 Cup as I thought it was a little bit runny and I like my chutney very stiff and chunky. Make sure you dice the apples small, like 1/4" cubes as mine were too big. I only had golden raisins on hand. Will definitely make again with more vinegar and dark raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pavlot Eby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I backed out some of the vinegar, and added some orange juice instead, which kicked up a notch and kept it from having too much vinegar flavor. I also left out the raisings (personal preferences in my household, raising are not a favorite!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I did though make a couple of modifications. Based on other reviews I reduced the cider vinegar to 1/4 cup (2 tablespoons would have been too little). I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of ground cloves. And I added 1/4 cup of diced raw walnuts. The flavor is killer. I've never made chutney before and I will never buy it again! Next time I will try it with the full amount of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My guests were a little apprehensive but once they tried it, they loved it. I used orange juice instead of water, omitted the vinegar and added a splash of balsamic instead, mandarin oranges and toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La_ura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is a tradition at my home for Thanksgiving and beyond. It's a perfect blend of fragrant and pungent, with a hint of sweet. I took it to my office party and have emailed it since then to most of my coworkers. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
As suggested by many reviewers, I made this chutney (with less vinegar) to go over a turkey tenderloin. My gravy loving husband absolutely thought the chutney was delicious. We have turkey often and I will be making this just as often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yum! Made as written a day prior and all the flavors melded perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe twice since Thanksgiving, as others suggested I used less vinegar. I only used 1 TB of red wine vinegar, 1/4 tea of balsamic vinegar, 1 tea of pumpkin spice & 1 granny smith apple cut in small pieces. It took longer to cook then 10 minutes but it was worth the wait, this recipe is a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States