Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought it was good, but it had a strong taste of vinegar. It was a hit or miss with my family, a bit strong for some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Ware
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I subbed Splenda for part of the sugar, but the part that threw me was how vinegary it tastes the first day. But, I made mine Sunday to serve Thursday, and on Thursday it was amazing! It tastes sort of like a sweet & sour pickled spiced fruit sauce, if you can imagine that. Our family had never tried cranberry sauce (or cranberry chutney) before, except in a can which we hated. We really liked this, I served it hot with cold cream cheese & crackers. We also liked it hot with the cheese ball made by someone else! This is a recipe we'll use again! (I liked this better with cheese than with turkey. With turkey it was sort of...too sweet? But again, I didn't grow up eating it!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I believe this would have been a good recipe if not for the cider vinegar. I only about 1/4 cup but I think any at all will ruin an otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Love this. I left out most the vinegar. I found the first time I made it the vinegar was a little too bitter. The second time I made it I only put in a drop of vinegar, and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Really like the blend of flavors. We did cut back on the cider vinegar to 1/8c. My husband wants to cut the cranberries & raisins some before cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Excellent! I made this for Thanksgiving and even my picky sister loved it. I have also served it over Brie cheese with crackers for a quick appetizer. I just made up a double batch and will freeze some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It sounded better than it tasted. It's actually quite good with turkey but perhaps a bit too tart. I would definitely cut back on the vinegar. Cranberries are quite tart all on their own. Using balsamic vinegar (about 2-3 tbsp) might be a reasonable substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Tasty recipe, however some of the spices are a little strong. Excellent side for turkey though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Simply amazing. Makes a great spread for bread or muffins for days to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We searched the stores for chutney for a Christmas party to no avail. I finally looked here and got this great recipe! It is very easy to make. We served it with a block of cream cheese and Wheat Thins crackers. What an amazing taste combination! I'm glad I saved some at home because I've been enjoying some delicious snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States