Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Little heavy on the apple cider vineger, but this was awesome!! It was a huge hit at thanksgiving.....My whole family loved it....and my two year old could eat it as a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was great!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! It smells delicious while cooking. I added 1/4 chopped dried apricots and substituted the cider vinegar with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Absolutely the best!! I made it for thanksgiving. I had a fresh orange on hand, so I zested it and added, and it made a difference (I love orange peel), but it would have still be great without it, as another user said. I did cut down the vinegar to 2TBsp as recommended by most. (I doubled the recipe and used 1/4 cup). I was not sure which apples to use, so I asked someone, and they recommended MacIntosh (they break down better)...worked well. Amazing recipe! I loved it! This will be my standard cranberry sauce from now on. Thank you very much!!! Those who did not try it because they dont like cranberries have no idea what they are missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This just tasted like vinegar to me. I think I would have liked it better if I just put in maybe a teaspoon of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Major disappointment. Not sweet enough for me, and I usually don't like things that sweet. The cider vinegar didn't help either, my husband hated the smell. I think substituting for that would be a good idea. I double checked make sure I did it right since all the reviews were so great and I did. It was just a weird flavor. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I loved this, and I don't even like cranberries! I "tested" the recipe as written and loved it! In fact I had to "test" another reviewers suggestion as well (reduce the vinegar, add brown sugar) because I ate up the first batch! I'm thinking if I combined the two it would put it over the top! I will continue to make this chutney throughout the year (can't wait to try it on icecream!) YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Nothing all that special, a little disappointing considering all the rave reviews. Not sweet enough for me -- I used Granny Smith apples which are tart, so that probably didn't help. Cut back to 2T balsamic, as recommended in some reviews, didn't taste vinegar-y at all. I had to put in a couple Tablespoons of brown sugar to sweeten it up, then it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Excellent departure from the usual canned cranberry sauce. This is now my family's favorite for the holidays. The sauce was perfect--thick enough to add to left-over turkey/cream cheese and cranberry sandwiches the next day! I added lemon juice and zest to the recipe which adds a citrusy zing to the already spicy blend. Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have--Christine L., thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is fantastic! And it makes the whole house smell deliceous! I made it specifically to serve it over B's Cordon Bleu Bundles (from Allrecipes!) and it was my family's favorite meal EVER! And would be wonderful with so many different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
very good recipe, especially with turkey and pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States