Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I did though make a couple of modifications. Based on other reviews I reduced the cider vinegar to 1/4 cup (2 tablespoons would have been too little). I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of ground cloves. And I added 1/4 cup of diced raw walnuts. The flavor is killer. I've never made chutney before and I will never buy it again! Next time I will try it with the full amount of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My guests were a little apprehensive but once they tried it, they loved it. I used orange juice instead of water, omitted the vinegar and added a splash of balsamic instead, mandarin oranges and toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La_ura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is a tradition at my home for Thanksgiving and beyond. It's a perfect blend of fragrant and pungent, with a hint of sweet. I took it to my office party and have emailed it since then to most of my coworkers. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
As suggested by many reviewers, I made this chutney (with less vinegar) to go over a turkey tenderloin. My gravy loving husband absolutely thought the chutney was delicious. We have turkey often and I will be making this just as often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yum! Made as written a day prior and all the flavors melded perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe twice since Thanksgiving, as others suggested I used less vinegar. I only used 1 TB of red wine vinegar, 1/4 tea of balsamic vinegar, 1 tea of pumpkin spice & 1 granny smith apple cut in small pieces. It took longer to cook then 10 minutes but it was worth the wait, this recipe is a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think this recipe has too much vinegar. I made it as directed. It's probably not fair to compare this to a typical cranberry sauce which is often very sweet. I like the suggestion of one cook who thought that using orange juice instead of water would be a good idea. I think I'll like this better on a turkey sandwich. So, I'm going to keep an open mind about it and probably cut back on the vinegar next time I make it. The spices are very nice. I would not change them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
The anti-vinegar people here are missing the point. This is cranberry chutney, not Ocean Spray canned cranberry jelly. There are most likely other recipes here like the way I make it, but, here I go: Saute 1/2 cup of onion for a while, throw in some garlic when the onion is soft, then proceed with the recipe. You can do without the apples and raisins as far as I'm concerned. I used 3/4 c. packed brown sugar and rice wine vinegar. I like adding orange jest. I just used 1 tsp. of ground ginger, instead of all the other spices. Grated fresh ginger would be very good. In fact, if you want it really orange-y, replace the water with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was ok but I really didn't care for the flavor profile. I like cinnamon, ginger, allspice and clove but in this dish they overpowered the cranberry and the turkey. I wish I had just made my tried and true cranberry-orange relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol M Haggerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
It is quite good. Although I agree, less cider vinegar would be better maybe cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States